上週,我們與合作夥伴聯盟一起提交了一份 約翰遜訴格蘭茨帕斯案中的法庭之友陳述。美國最高法院將於 22 月 XNUMX 日在俄勒岡州審理此案。

約翰遜訴格蘭茨帕斯案將決定,在沒有其他安全地方可去的情況下,逮捕在外面露宿的人或開罰單是否屬於殘酷和不尋常的懲罰。這被認為是 40 多年來關於無家可歸者的最重大案件,因為最高法院將裁定城市是否可以懲罰試圖在外面露宿的人。

僅將無家可歸狀況定為刑事犯罪的懲罰措施並不能解決無家可歸危機。他們讓情況變得更糟。當他們每天目睹無家可歸者時,下面簽名的朋友們知道,提供 關懷和支持——而不是定罪——是確保我們社區這些成員有住房、有食物和健康的方法。

我們的簡介概述了三個要點: 無家可歸是一種非自願狀況。將無家可歸定為刑事犯罪是一種過度的懲罰,而不是解決方案。除了刑事定罪之外,地方政府還有可以使用的工具。

我們知道,無家可歸的人在獲得適當的食物方面面臨著巨大的障礙,長期糧食不安全的比例極高。獲得住房是俄勒岡州消除飢餓的基礎。

研究表明,將無家可歸者定為犯罪會加劇根本原因。像紐約市這樣的地方政府擁有實施或支持住房和援助計畫的手段,以幫助解決無家可歸問題。

花點時間閱讀 之友陳述,然後前往 johnsonvgrantspass.com 了解有關此案的更多資訊。

Last week, alongside a coalition of our partners, we submitted an amicus brief in the Johnson v. Grants Pass case. This case, from right here in Oregon, will be heard by the US Supreme Court on April 22.

Johnson v. Grants Pass will determine if it’s cruel and unusual punishment to arrest or ticket people for sleeping outside when they have no other safe place to go. This is considered the most significant case about homelessness in 40+ years, as the Supreme Court will rule on whether cities can punish people for trying to survive by sleeping outside.

Punitive measures that criminalize the mere condition of homelessness do not solve the homelessness crisis. They make it worse. As they witness homelessness on a daily basis, the undersigned amici know that offering care and support—not criminalization— is the way to ensure these members of our communities are housed, fed, and healthy.

Our brief outlines three main points: Homelessness is an involuntary condition. The criminalization of homelessness is an excessive punishment, not a solution. Local governments have tools at their disposal other than criminalization.

We know that houseless folks face immense barriers to accessing appropriate food and experience extremely high rates of long-term food insecurity. Access to housing is foundational to a hunger-free Oregon.

Studies show that criminalizing homeless individuals exacerbates underlying causes. Local governments like the City have at their disposal the means to implement or support housing and assistance programs that help battle homelessness at its core.

Take a moment to read the amicus brief, and head to johnsonvgrantspass.com for more information on the case.