烘焙结束

为什么我们选择 2020 年的新活动

通过丽兹马丁内斯

在我们一年一度的甜点品尝活动 Bake to End Hunger 之前,去年我们邀请人们分享他们最喜欢的回忆。

有几个人对蛋糕抽奖活动进行了详细的讨论——赢得抽奖是一大亮点。 其他人则深情地记得他们最喜欢品尝的甜点。 我也记得我的第一次烘焙活动。 我只当了大约 3 个月的员工。 琳琅满目的甜点让我惊叹不已,蛋糕抽奖的热情让我兴奋不已。

回首那些美好的回忆,显然少了一件事情。 虽然每个人都喜欢这次活动,但很明显,食物是明星——而不是我们在无饥饿俄勒冈州的工作。

像许多反饥饿组织一样,我们在俄勒冈州无饥饿组织经常面临着筹集资金以结束饥饿,同时兜售颓废食物和鼓励暴饮暴食的困境。 当食物成为焦点时,社区就退居次要位置。

当我们听取 Bake 2019 的汇报时,我们开始面对现实。 而且,当我们对事件应用公平视角时,它变得不容忽视。 我们需要一个新的事件。 在这个活动中,我们不仅可以分享我们的故事,还可以分享这场运动中领导者的故事。 包括食物但不包括中心部分的活动。 一项活动,使我们能够设定各种社区成员都能负担得起的票价。

所以,我写信分享我们将正式停止我们的 Bake 活动。 我们也放弃了我们的春季午餐。 在过去的几年里,这两项活动都对我们很有帮助。 我们将永远感谢让这些活动取得成功的每一个人——从厨师到合作伙伴组织再到员工再到客人。 这确实是一个团队的努力。

特别是 Bake 将烹饪行业聚集在一起,以令人难以置信的令人欣慰的方式支持我们的抗饥饿工作。 厨师和业内其他人士一直渴望参与我们州的饥饿解决方案。 我们将继续与我们的餐厅合作伙伴合作,寻找提高知名度和吸引餐厅合作伙伴的方法。

请继续关注有关新活动愿景的公告,该活动将以我们的社区为中心,开展反饥饿运动,并且仍然可以享用一些美食。

同时,如果您想与我们分享反馈或想法,请联系 [电子邮件保护]. 我们随时欢迎您的来信。

感谢您与我们一起参与这次旅程。

The End of Bake

Why we are choosing a new event in 2020

by Lizzie Martinez

Leading up to our annual dessert tasting event, Bake to End Hunger, last year we asked people to share their favorite memory.

Several people waxed at length about the cake raffle–and winning one was a highlight. Others fondly remembered their favorite dessert to sample. I, too, remember my first Bake event. I had only been on staff for about 3 months. I was awed by the dazzling array of desserts, and excited by the fervor over the cake raffle.

Looking back on those fond memories, one thing is clearly missing. While everyone enjoyed the event, it is obvious that food was the star–not our work at Hunger-Free Oregon.

Like many anti-hunger organizations, we at Hunger-Free Oregon often face the dilemma of raising money to end hunger while simultaneously peddling decadent treats and encouraging gluttony. When food is the focus, the community takes a back seat.

As we debriefed Bake 2019, we began to face the reality. And, as we applied an equity lens to the event, it became too much to ignore. We needed a new event. An event where we can share not only our story, but stories of the people who are leaders in this movement. An event where food is included, but not the central piece. An event that allows us to set ticket prices that are affordable to a wide range of community members.

So, I write to share that we are officially discontinuing our Bake event. We are also letting go of our spring luncheon. Both events have served us well in the past years. We will be forever grateful to every single person–from chefs to partner organizations to staff to guests–who made these events a success. It was truly a team effort.

Bake, in particular, brought together the culinary industry to support our anti-hunger work in a way that was incredibly gratifying. Chefs and others in the industry have always been eager to participate in the solutions for hunger in our state. We will continue to partner to find ways to raise awareness and engage our restaurant partners.

Stay tuned for an announcement about a vision for a new event that will center our community, build the anti-hunger movement, and still have some good food to enjoy.

In the meantime, if you want to share feedback or thoughts with us, please reach out to li[email protected]. We always welcome hearing from you.

Thank you for being part of this journey with us.