對於面臨糧食不安全的家庭來說,夏季長期以來一直是孩子們在學校不再容易獲得早餐和午餐的時期。許多父母和照顧者必須為每個孩子每週提供至少 10 頓額外的膳食。

今年,俄勒岡州宣布打算在 2024 年實施夏季電子福利轉移 (夏季 EBT) 計劃,這是其作為永久聯邦計劃的第一年,正在採取關鍵步驟,確保兒童在夏季獲得重要營養。 (在此處閱讀完整的新聞稿)

聯邦政府將資助所有食品福利,預計每年 35 萬美元,以及一半的行政費用。

“俄勒岡州的社區領袖在過去十年中一直在試點、制定並贏得了永久性的全國性夏季 EBT 計劃,” 無飢餓俄勒岡合作夥伴。 “現在由州立法機關負責提供行政資金並為俄勒岡州的兒童和家庭提供 35 萬美元的聯邦糧食援助。” 

什麼是夏季 EBT?
夏季 EBT 將透過新的或現有的 EBT 卡為每個兒童提供 120 美元(約 40 美元/月),以幫助補充低收入家庭學生的夏季膳食計劃。

誰符合資格?
參加 SNAP、TANF 或 Medicaid 的兒童將直接獲得認證,家庭還將被邀請填寫申請表,透過收入獲得資格。該計劃的管理細節尚未最終確定,但我們預計學校將向家庭發送申請。 

確保 訂閱俄勒岡州「無飢餓」電子郵件通訊合作夥伴 並按照我們上 Instagram or Facebook 用於更新。同時, 寫信給您的立法成員,告訴他們該計劃對於支持俄勒岡州年輕人的福祉有多重要.

For families facing food insecurity, summer has long marked a time when kids no longer have easy access to breakfast and lunch at school. Many parents and caregivers have to come up with at least 10 additional meals per week, per child.

This year, Oregon is taking critical steps to ensure children have access to vital nutrition during the summer months by declaring its intention to operate the Summer Electronic Benefit Transfer (Summer EBT) program in 2024, its first year as a permanent federal program. (Read the full press release here)

The federal government will fund all of the food benefits, estimated at $35 million per year, and half the administrative costs.

“Community leaders in Oregon have spent the last ten years piloting, shaping and winning a permanent, nationwide Summer EBT program,” said David Wieland, Policy Advocate at Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon. “Now it’s in the state legislature’s hands to provide administrative funding and unlock the $35 million in federal food assistance for Oregon’s children and families.” 

What is Summer EBT?
Summer EBT will provide $120 per child (approximating $40/month) on a new or existing EBT card to help supplement summer meals programs for students from low-income families.

Who is eligible?
Children who participate in SNAP, TANF or Medicaid will be directly certified, and families will also be invited to fill out an application to qualify via income. The specifics of administering the program haven’t been finalized yet, but we expect that schools will send home an application to families. 

Make sure to sign up for the Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon email newsletter and follow us on Instagram or Facebook for updates. In the meantime, write to your members of legislation telling them how important this program will be in supporting the wellbeing of Oregon’s youth.