良好的营养会有所作为

单击此处查找俄勒冈州所有学区的列表,以及在冠状病毒学校关闭期间其膳食计划的链接。 您不必去那个特定的学校或学区就可以享用这些餐点——为 1-18 岁的儿童提供免费膳食,以采用“即取即走”的方式。

虽然俄勒冈州的饥饿人数一直在稳步下降,但仍然居高不下。

根据新的 美国农业部关于美国粮食不安全的报告 14.6-2014 年间,俄勒冈州近七分之一的家庭 (16%) 处于“粮食不安全”状态。

这影响了 620,000 名俄勒冈人和超过 316,000 名儿童,其中四分之一来自低收入粮食不安全家庭的儿童面临饥饿风险,并且有资格参加营养计划。

我们了解缺乏足够营养对孩子的身体、情绪和认知影响。 不吃或不吃早餐或午餐可能会导致孩子在三年级阅读考试中感到疲惫和焦虑。 随着时间的推移,我们知道这个孩子可能会落后于年级水平,并且由于在学校教育过程中缺乏必要的营养和能量,最终可能无法从高中毕业。

通过美国农业部提供的一系列儿童营养计划,包括学校早餐计划 (SBP)、全国学校午餐计划 (NSLP) 和课后膳食和零食计划 (ASMSP),儿童可以获得健康的营养食品。

我们与包括俄勒冈州教育部在内的社区合作伙伴合作,通过技术援助、外展和营销材料以及旨在提高参与度的离散设计计划来宣传和扩大对这些营养计划的参与。

谁符合资格?

欢迎任何学生在他们的学校用餐。 无论家庭是否付费或有资格获得免费餐点,学校提供的食物都符合有助于所有儿童和青少年成长和学习的营养指南。

低于 185% 的联邦贫困线

家庭收入等于或低于联邦贫困线 185% 的儿童可以获得免费膳食,因为俄勒冈州承担了家庭的“降价”共同支付费用。 超过 185% 的贫困家庭支付学校早餐和午餐的全额费用。

无家可归者或寄养

无家可归或寄养的儿童也有资格。

获得 SNAP 或 TANF 福利

如果您的家人通过补充营养援助计划 (SNAP) 或贫困家庭临时援助 (TANF) 获得福利,无论金额多少,您都将有资格获得免费学校膳食。 如果您没有参加 SNAP,或者从未申请过 SNAP 或 School Meals,根据您的家庭收入,您的孩子可能仍有资格在学校享用免费早餐和午餐。

谁可以运行学校营养计划?

公立和私立非营利学校、住宿托儿机构 (RCCI)

所有公立和私立非营利学校(高中及以下)以及寄宿托儿机构 (RCCI) 都可以参加。 参与允许学校获得每份早餐、午餐或小吃的现金补贴。 作为回报,计划提供符合美国农业部营养标准的膳食,并由俄勒冈州教育部 (ODE) 监督。

学校早餐计划

学校早餐计划(SBP) 向在学校和住宿托儿机构中经营非营利早餐计划的提供者提供联邦补偿。

该计划由美国农业部在联邦一级管理,在州一级由美国农业部管理。 俄勒冈州教育局.

俄勒冈无饥饿合作伙伴与俄勒冈州教育部和其他社区合作伙伴合作宣传学校早餐计划并支持参与的学校。

我们通过与俄勒冈州的供应商合作并监督其他州的努力,确定改进学校早餐计划的机会。 我们提倡通过州和联邦政策变化来进行这些改进,例如 2015 贝尔法案后的早餐.

对儿童、家庭和学校的好处

1. 更多的孩子从早餐开始新的一天

学生的一天从营养均衡的开始,这样他们就可以在精神、身体和社交方面都做得很好。

2.更大 认知与健康

学生不太可能在学业上挣扎或有健康问题。

3. 增加访问

家庭在为孩子提供早餐方面面临挑战,包括食物预算紧张或早起工作、拼车或巴士时刻表; SBP 为他们的孩子提供了一个健康的选择。

4. 更好地参与学习

研究表明,吃早餐的学生可以提高数学和阅读成绩,在标准化测试中表现更好,并在认知测试中提高速度和记忆力。 它还被证明对旷工、迟到、护士访问和行为事件产生积极影响。

5. 强大的儿童营养计划

当学校食品营养部门能够为更多有需要的儿童提供学校早餐时,他们就会在经济上受益; 增加参与有助于创造规模经济,而条款 2 和社区资格条款等选项有助于产生联邦报销资金,以支持强大的计划。

示范项目

全国各地的学校发现,有更多的孩子在下钟后吃早餐,并且在可行的情况下对所有学生免费。 通过在上课日提供早餐,学校可以消除阻碍学生享用这顿重要餐点的障碍,例如公交车时刻表和污名。 许多组织已经创建了工具来帮助教师、学校和倡导者推广学校早餐。

更多资讯

俄勒冈州教育部 课堂手册中的早餐

分享我们的力量 最佳实践中心

食品研究与行动中心 研究和工具 在学校早餐

了解 XNUMX 月学校早餐挑战

全国学校午餐计划

自 1946 年国会通过《全国学校午餐法》以应对普遍存在的儿童营养不良问题以来,全国学校午餐计划一直在为全国范围内的儿童服务。 该计划旨在为学龄儿童提供营养食品,并通过将农场盈余引入学校食品系统来支持食品价格。 该计划由美国农业部在联邦一级管理,在州一级由俄勒冈州教育部管理。

亮点:

  • 联邦权利计划为学校提供低成本、健康膳食的现金补贴
  • 膳食必须符合联邦营养指南
  • 资金可用于支付食品、行政和人员费用
  • 参与学校还可以获得美国农业部捐赠的商品食品

对学生的好处:

  • 享用均衡、营养的午餐,包括全麦、水果、蔬菜和牛奶
  • 提高学业成绩、注意力和减少行为问题
  • 参与该计划有助于养成良好的饮食习惯

对学校和项目的好处:

  • 对学校的现金报销
  • 帮助学校解决肥胖问题和促进体育锻炼的健康政策

放学后的膳食和小吃计划

联邦放学后膳食和零食计划 (ASMSP) 为符合条件的课后充实计划提供报销,这些计划为他们的孩子提供免费餐点或零食。

ASMSP 是儿童和成人护理食品计划的延伸,有时也称为“风险”或“晚餐”计划。 所有餐点和小吃都免费提供给参加课后充实计划的青少年。

对孩子的好处

强壮的身体:改善您服务的儿童的健康和福祉。 小吃和膳食营养均衡,让孩子们从您的充实计划中获得最大收益

坚强的头脑:当孩子们来参加您的课程时,他们可能距离上一餐已经过去了 3-4 个小时,这使得他们难以集中注意力或学习。 该计划确保学生即使在下课铃响后也能继续茁壮成长。

强大的社区:放学后计划提供了一个安全、有监督的环境,否则许多年轻人会独自在家或在街上。

课后计划的好处

加强和保留编程:

提供膳食和零食可能很昂贵,让项目经理在喂养孩子和提供丰富的活动之间做出艰难的选择。 ASMSP 可以帮助您做到这两点,在可以资助计划活动的餐食和小吃上节省数千美元。

资金多元化:

膳食计划是一个很好的工具,可以用来接触未来的资助者。 将此作为筹款预算的一部分向潜在资助者表明您愿意利用社区中的所有可用资源。 它还表明对您孩子的整体健康和健康的承诺。

资格要求:

该地点必须位于至少 50% 的儿童有资格获得免费和减价 (F/R) 午餐的学校出勤范围内。

学校、教堂、公寓大楼、社区中心、男孩和女孩俱乐部、部落机构和其他组织地点都是合适地点的例子。

采取行动,通过畅所欲言结束饥饿

了解更多

Good nutrition makes a difference

While hunger has been steadily decreasing in Oregon, it remains persistently high.

According to a new USDA report on Food Insecurity in the U.S. nearly one in seven households (14.6 percent) in Oregon were “food insecure” between 2014-16.

This affects 620,000 Oregonians, and over 316,000 kids, where 1 in 4 children from low-income food insecure homes are at risk of hunger and are eligible for nutrition programs.

We understand the physical, emotional, and cognitive impacts of a lack of adequate nutrition on kids. A skipped or partial breakfast or lunch may lead a child to feel frazzled and anxious during a third-grade reading exam. Over time, we know this child may fall behind a grade level, and ultimately might not graduate from high school due to a lack of essential nutrition and energy during their educational journey in school.

Access to healthy nutritious food for children exists through the suite of USDA Child Nutrition Programs available including the School Breakfast Program (SBP), the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), and the After School Meal and Snack Program (ASMSP).

We work with community partners including the Oregon Department of Education, to publicize and expand participation in these nutrition programs through technical assistance, outreach and marketing materials, and discrete-designed programs to boost participation.

Who is eligible?

Any student is welcome to enjoy meals at their school. Whether a family pays or is eligible for free meals, the food served at school meets nutrition guidelines that helps all children and teens grow and learn.

Below 185% federal poverty level

Children whose families have income at or below 185% of the federal poverty level can get free meals, as the state of Oregon covers the "reduced price" co-pay cost for families. Families over 185% of poverty pay full price for school breakfast and lunch.

Homeless or Foster Care

Children who are homeless or in Foster Care also qualify.

Receive SNAP or TANF benefits

If your family receives benefits through the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), regardless of the amount, you will qualify for free school meals. If you are not on SNAP, or have never applied for SNAP or School Meals, your child may still be eligible for free breakfast and lunch in school based on your family income.

Who can run School Nutrition Programs?

Public and private non-profit schools, Residential Child Care Institutions (RCCI)

All Public and private non-profit schools (high school and under), and Residential Child Care Institutions (RCCI) can participate. Participation allows schools to receive cash subsidies for each breakfast, lunch or snack served. In return, programs serve meals consistent with USDA nutrition standards and are monitored by the Oregon Department of Education (ODE).

School Breakfast Program

The School Breakfast Program (SBP) provides federal reimbursements to providers who operate nonprofit breakfast programs in schools and residential childcare institutions.

The program is administered at the Federal level by the USDA and at the State level by the Oregon Department of Education.

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon works with the Oregon Department of Education and other community partners to publicize the School Breakfast Program and support schools who participate.

We identify opportunities for School Breakfast Program improvement through our work with providers here in Oregon and monitoring efforts of other states. We advocate for these improvements through state and federal policy change, like the 2015 Breakfast after the Bell bill.

Benefits to children, families, and schools

1. More children start the day with breakfast

Students get a nutritionally balanced start to their day so they can do well mentally, physically, and socially.

2. Greater cognition and health

Students are less likely to struggle academically or have health issues.

3. Increased access

Families face challenges to providing breakfast for their kids, including tight food budgets or early-morning work, carpool, or bus schedules; the SBP provides a healthy option available for their kids.

4. Greater participation in learning

Studies suggest that students who eat breakfast increase their math and reading scores, do better on standardized tests, and improve both their speed and memory in cognitive tests. It has also been shown to positively impact absenteeism, tardiness, nurse visits, and behavioral incidents.

5. Strong child nutrition programs

School food nutrition departments benefit financially when they are able to reach more children in need with school breakfast; increased participation helps create economies of scale, and options such as Provision 2 and Community Eligibility Provision help yield federal reimbursement dollars to support strong programs.

Model Programs

Schools across the country have found that substantially more children eat breakfast when it is served after the bell and free of charge for all students, when viable. By offering breakfast as part of the school day, schools can eliminate barriers such as bus schedules and stigma that get in the way of students eating this important meal. Many organizations have created tools to help teachers, schools and advocates promote school breakfast.

Additional Resources

Oregon Department of Education’s Breakfast in the Classroom Manual

Share Our Strength’s Center for Best Practices

Food Research and Action Center’s research and tools on school breakfast

Learn about the November School Breakfast Challenge

–Coming Soon–

National School Lunch Program

The National School Lunch Program has been serving children nationwide since Congress passed the 1946 National School Lunch Act in response to widespread childhood malnutrition. The program aims to provide nutritious food to school aged children and support food prices by channeling farm surpluses into the school food system. The program is administered at the Federal level by USDA and at the State level by the Oregon Department of Education.

Highlights:

  • Federal entitlement program providing schools cash subsidies for low-cost, healthy meals
  • Meals must meet federal nutrition guidelines
  • Funds may be used to cover food, administration and staffing costs
  • Participating schools also can receive donated commodity food from the USDA

Benefits to Students:

  • Access to a balanced, nutritious lunch that includes whole grains, fruits, vegetables and milk
  • Improved academic performance, concentration and fewer behavioral problems
  • Participation in the program can assist in developing good eating habits

Benefits to Schools and Programs:

  • Cash reimbursements to schools
  • Wellness policies to help schools address obesity problems and promote physical activity

After School Meal and Snack Program

The federal After School Meal and Snack Program (ASMSP) provides reimbursement to qualifying after school enrichment programs that serve free meals or snacks to their children.

ASMSP is an extension of the Child and Adult Care Food Program, and is sometimes referred to as the “At-Risk” or “Supper” program. All meals and snacks are served free of charge to youth in participating after school enrichment programs.

Benefits to Kids

Strong Bodies: Improve the health and well being of the children you serve. The snacks and meals are nutritionally-balanced and allow kids to get the most from your enrichment program

Strong Minds: By the time children come to your programs it may have been 3-4 hours since their last meal, making it difficult to concentrate or learn. This program ensures that students continue to thrive even after the school bell rings.

Strong Communities: After school programs provide a safe, supervised environment during a time when many youth would otherwise be home alone, or on the street.

Benefits to After School Programs

Strengthens and Preserves Programming:

Providing meals and snacks can be expensive, leaving program managers with a difficult choice between feeding kids and providing enriching activities. ASMSP can help you do both, saving thousands of dollars on meals and snacks that can fund program activities.

Funding Diversity:

The meal program is a great tool to use for approaching future funders. Incorporating this as part of your fundraising budget shows potential funders your willingness to leverage all available resources in your community. It also demonstrates a commitment to your children’s overall health and wellness.

Eligibility Requirements

The site must be located within a school attendance boundary where at least 50% of the children are eligible for Free and Reduced (F/R) lunches.

Schools, churches, apartment complexes, community centers, boys and girls clubs, tribal agencies and other organizational locations are examples of appropriate sites.

Take action to end hunger by speaking up

learn more

E-News Sign Up

Receive monthly updates and action alerts.