吃早餐的孩子在學校表現更好

學校早餐是一個強大的工具。 良好的營養對每個學生的成功都至關重要:飢餓會影響他們生活的方方面面,包括身體、社交和心理。

在學校吃早餐的孩子在考試中表現更好,上課更頻繁,焦慮感更小,更平靜,注意力更集中,更有可能畢業。

問題是: 在俄勒岡州, 不到所有學生的三分之一 平均每天供應早餐。

解決方案: 通過改變服務模式、讓家長和學生參與進來以及實現優質膳食來改善訪問。 學生在以營養豐富的早餐開始新的一天時會做得更好。 通過改變供應早餐的方式和時間,讓早餐成為學校一天的無縫組成部分,以便所有學生都能享用這頓重要的一餐,這將對課堂和學校產生巨大影響。

在學校吃早餐可確保所有學生在新的一天都能獲得營養均衡的開始,並支持更好的健康、認知能力和更強的學習參與度。 擴大早餐供應也意味著許多家庭預算緊張、非傳統工作時間或繁忙的早晨日程,可以得到學校早餐計劃的支持。 強有力的兒童營養計劃也使學校食品營養部門能夠在經濟上受益,因為他們能夠為更多的兒童提供學校早餐; 喜歡免費為所有學生提供食物的選項,例如 規定 2社區資格規定,幫助產生聯邦報銷資金,以支持強有力的計劃並提高學校膳食質量。

我們的動力

年幼的孩子們在自助餐廳的餐桌上吃午餐時微笑著

現實情況是,對於許多低收入家庭來說,每天提供健康的早餐存在障礙。 疫情之前, 五分之一的兒童糧食不安全,1% 的學生有資格獲得免費和減價餐 在俄勒岡州。 然而,俄勒岡州的飢餓率大幅上升,低於美國平均水平。 參與學校早餐計劃的人數仍然很少。 只關於 所有學生的 23% 參加學校早餐計劃,相比之下,幾乎 50% 的人參加了全國學校午餐計劃。

早餐的障礙

在俄勒岡州,大多數學校在開學前和自助餐廳提供學校早餐。 然而,這種運行學校早餐計劃的傳統方式對許多學生來說並不適用,並且為可能難以獲得食物的家庭造成了額外的障礙。

一些常見的障礙包括:

  • 意識。 學校午餐是眾所周知的,但家庭對學校早餐及其資格的了解往往較少,因為它並不總是包含在寄回家的通信中
  • 交通或其他訪問問題,例如趕早班表或公共汽車未及時到達學生上課前在自助餐廳用餐
  • 在學校吃早餐“只適合低收入家庭”的社會污名,尤其是在中學生中
  • 缺乏針對不同文化群體或飲食需求的膳食包容性

將早餐從自助餐廳轉移到教室的策略在克服參與障礙方面最為成功。

什麼是免費學校早餐,我如何獲得它?

在俄勒岡州,大多數學校在開學前和自助餐廳提供學校早餐。 然而,這種運行學校早餐計劃的傳統方式對許多學生來說並不適用,並且為可能難以獲得食物的家庭造成了額外的障礙。 學校早餐計劃 (SBP) 向在學校和住宿托兒機構經營非營利早餐計劃的提供者提供聯邦補償。 該計劃由美國農業部在聯邦一級管理,在州一級由俄勒岡州教育部管理。 有關學校早餐計劃的更多信息,請點擊此處。 

超過 315,000 名兒童有資格通過學校早餐計劃和國家學校午餐計劃免費或減價用餐,但只有大約 206,000 名兒童參與其中。 在俄勒岡州,約有 273,000 名學生有資格享受免費或減價餐,但只有 110,000 名學生入學。 即使您過去沒有,您也可能有資格獲得免費學校餐。 由於 2019 年通過了立法,擴大了家庭收入資格準則,使所有家庭的收入達到聯邦貧困線的 300% 有資格獲得俄勒岡州的免費學校餐. 由於大流行,這一過程將被推遲,直到學校恢復正常的面對面教學/運營。 請與您當地的學區聯繫以獲取更多詳細信息或有關如何填寫免費和減價膳食申請表或填寫申請表 俄勒岡州教育部。

想了解更多關於免費和減價校餐的信息,或者有興趣了解您的家人是否符合條件?

在這裡找到

州倡導工作:學生成功法案

俄勒岡州在改善獲得學校供餐的機會方面一直處於全國領先地位。 作為具有里程碑意義的學生成功法案的一部分,無飢餓學校條款於 16 年 2019 月 XNUMX 日由州長凱特·布朗簽署成為法律,該法案解決了數十年來對俄勒岡州學校的投資減少問題。 該法案對學校膳食進行了歷史性的投資,將確保學生在校期間不會挨餓,並規定了膳食成本和早餐供應方式。 了解更多 https://oregonhunger.org/hunger-free-schools/

該條款包括三個主要組成部分:

  • It 是期待 將提供普遍免費校餐的學校數量增加一倍以上。 這些學校的孩子們不會再因為吃校餐而感到被孤立,研究表明吃校餐對學生的成就很有幫助
  • 對於其餘的公立學校,俄勒岡州已將收入資格提高到聯邦貧困線的 300%。 這使兒童健康保險的資格達到 300%。 這將支持那些目前收入過高而無法獲得免費校餐但仍需要幫助的工作的家庭。
  • 俄勒岡州已標準化 為貧困率高的學校的學生提供下課後早餐的最佳做法。 這意味著更多的學生可以享用學校早餐,這與更高的出勤率和畢業率以及以後的收入增加有關。

如果你是一個 受此立法影響的學校、場所或家庭,請查看下面的培訓和工具部分或成功案例,以了解有關不同類型模型的更多信息。 這些變化因 COVID 大流行而延遲,並在 2022-23 學年開始時生效。

超過 310,000 名兒童

超過 310,000 名兒童

有資格獲得免費學校早餐,但只有大約 110,000 人參與。

有資格獲得免費學校早餐,但只有大約 110,000 人參與。

通過俄勒岡無飢餓合作夥伴的工作,幫助我們將更多孩子與學校早餐聯繫起來。

今天捐贈

其他資源

在俄勒岡州,大多數學校在開學前和自助餐廳提供學校早餐。 然而,這種傳統的學校早餐計劃運作方式對許多孩子來說並不適用,因為它會給低收入家庭帶來不必要的障礙。

將早餐從食堂搬出並在下課鈴之後的學校在克服參與障礙方面最為成功,並且學校早餐計劃的參與度呈指數級增長。 這種供應早餐的方式被稱為鍾形早餐模式。 它通過在孩子們可以輕鬆訪問的地方提供早餐——在教室、走廊售貨亭,甚至在早上晚些時候,讓早餐參與變得更加方便。 學校提供早餐的方式是可定制的,常用的方法包括: 外帶、第二次機會或課堂早餐.

俄勒岡州的 100 多所學校已成功改用鐘聲後供應早餐。

有興趣改進學校的早餐計劃嗎?

鐘聲後早餐實施指南

查看

教師、校長和其他教育工作者的鐘聲後早餐工具包

查看

改變學校早餐供應方式的第一步是評估哪種服務模式最適合他們的學生和教職員工。

下載以下材料,了解提供 DIY 或結構化活動的最佳實踐、資源和當地合作夥伴。

NHK早餐常見問題 

查看

智能午餐自助餐廳記分卡

查看

鐘聲計劃後的 FRAC 早餐

查看

NHK 早餐更改推出時間表

查看

FRAC 替代模型情況說明書

查看

推廣學校早餐計劃並提高認識。 使用以下材料在您的學校、媒體、社區地點和在線宣傳。

早餐橫幅

查看

學校早餐海報

查看

早餐家庭傳單

查看

為俄勒岡州的兒童營養計劃提供資金機會,尤其是圍繞學校早餐計劃。

俄勒岡州教育部補助金

俄勒岡州立法機構已指定國家資金用於擴大夏季和放學後兒童營養計劃,其中包括增加新地點、改用熱食和增加包括早餐在內的新型膳食。 申請信息和材料可在 教育部網站,或聯繫 ODE CNP 專家 Kaitlin Skreen [電子郵件保護] 

俄勒岡州俄勒岡州部已撥款支持學校早餐(聯繫 Laura Allran,網址為 [電子郵件保護]) 和購買設備(聯繫 Jennifer Parenteau,網址為 [電子郵件保護])。 教育部維持 貝爾資源後的一頁早餐

美國農業部贈款

美國農業部目前提供 設備援助補助金 為學校食品當局當前的撥款週期開放至 2022 年 50 月。州機構競爭性地向參與國家學校午餐計劃 (NSLP) 的合格學校食品當局 (SFA) 提供設備援助撥款,優先考慮高需求學校(即學校在服務不足的地區、獲得其他資源有限的學校以及食品服務設備的年齡),其中 XNUMX% 或更多的註冊學生有資格獲得免費或減價餐。

這些資金將允許 SFA 購買設備來提供符合更新膳食模式的更健康膳食,重點是在學校膳食中增加水果和蔬菜,改善食品安全並擴大獲取。 有關美國農業部的其他資源,請訪問他們的 贈款頁面.

俄勒岡乳業和營養委員會撥款

ODN 的學校助學金已頒發給 2022-23 學年。  欲了解更多信息,請聯繫 Crista Hawkins: [電子郵件保護]

分享我們的力量“不讓孩子餓了”運動

No Kid Hungry 運動經常有機會為學校早餐計劃提供資金,請查看他們的網站以獲取更新。 這包括 No Kid Hungry 和 Kellogg 學校早餐補助金. 如果您對申請有任何疑問,請通過電子郵件聯繫 [電子郵件保護] 或致電202 649-4342。

示範項目

俄勒岡州各地的學校發現,有更多的孩子在下鐘後吃早餐,並且在可行的情況下對所有學生免費。 通過在下課後提供早餐,作為上課日的一部分,學校可以消除阻礙學生享用這頓重要餐點的障礙,例如公交車時刻表和恥辱感。

貝爾節目後的早餐可以有很多不同的方式。 此類早餐計劃的常見模式有:課堂早餐、外帶早餐和第二次機會早餐。

通用早餐免費向學生提供早餐,是對任何早餐模式的有益補充,因為它消除了學生在參加學校早餐計劃時可能面臨的經濟障礙。 免費提供早餐會增加早餐的參與度,並消除低收入學生在學校吃早餐時經常面臨的恥辱。 學校可以參加一些聯邦計劃以協助提供普遍早餐,包括社區資格條款和條款 2。

關於聯邦計劃和資助選項的情況說明書

第二次機會早餐

這種模式適用於初中生或高中生,他們可能不會在早上第一件事就餓了,沒有及時到達,或者更喜歡在早上上課前與朋友社交。 在第二次機會早餐模式中,學生在早上的休息時間吃早餐,通常在第一節和第二節之間。 學校通常使用 Grab and Go 模式在走廊上供應早餐,或者他們可以在休息時間打開自助餐廳供應早餐。

學校聚焦:伍德本學區伍德本高中

了解有關伍德本高中第二次機會早餐計劃的更多信息

教室裡的早餐

在課堂早餐模式中,學生在上課日正式開始後在課堂上吃早餐。 學生或教職員工通過冷卻器或隔熱捲袋將早餐從自助餐廳送到教室。 學生在老師出勤、發布通知並開始新的一天時吃飯。 最多 15 分鐘可算作教學時間,即此模型所需的平均長度。

學校聚焦:Grandhaven 小學,麥克明維爾學區

在課堂計劃中了解有關 Grandhaven Elementary 早餐的更多信息

在這裡看

搶走

學生在方便學生的區域(例如走廊、入口通道或自助餐廳)從移動推車上取早餐。 學生可以在上課鈴響之前和之後在他們的教室或公共區域用餐。

Kids who eat breakfast do better at school

School Breakfast is a powerful tool. Good nutrition is essential to every student’s success: Hunger can impact every aspect of their lives physically, socially, and mentally.

Kids who eat breakfast at school do better on tests, attend class more often, feel less anxious and are calmer, have greater focus, and are more likely to graduate.

The problem: In Oregon, less than a third of all students are served breakfast on an average day.

The solution: Improving access by changing service models, engaging parents and students, and achieving great meal quality. Students do better when they start the day with a nutritious breakfast. Making breakfast a seamless part of the school day by changing how and when it is served so all students can access this important meal will have a huge impact on classrooms and schools.

Having breakfast at school ensures that all students get a nutritionally balanced start to their day, and supports greater health, cognition, and stronger participation in learning. Expanding breakfast access would also mean that  many families experiencing a  tight budget, non-traditional work hours, or a busy morning schedule, can be supported by the School Breakfast Program.  Strong child nutrition programs also benefit School food nutrition departments financially, when they are able to reach more children with school breakfast; like options that feed all students at no charge, such as Provision 2 and Community Eligibility Provision, help yield federal reimbursement dollars to support strong programs and improve school meal quality.

Our motivation

The reality is that for many low-income families there are obstacles to providing a healthy morning meal each day. Prior to the Pandemic, 1 in 5 children were food insecure and 52% of students qualified for free and reduced priced meals in the state of Oregon. However, hunger rates in Oregon have heavily increased, and are reaching a low lower than the US average. Participation in the school breakfast program continues to be low.  Only about 23 percent of all students participate in the School Breakfast Program, compared to the almost 50% who participate in the National School Lunch Program.

Barriers to Breakfast

In Oregon, the majority of schools serve School Breakfast before school starts and in the cafeteria. However, this traditional way of operating the school breakfast program doesn’t work for many students, and creates extra barriers for families who might have trouble accessing food.

Some common barriers include:

  • Awareness. School lunch is well known, but families tend to hear less about school breakfast and their eligibility as it’s not always included in communications that are sent home
  • Transportation or other access issues such as rushed morning schedules or buses not arriving in time for students to eat in the cafeteria before class
  • Social stigma that eating breakfast at school is “only for low-income families”, especially  amongst middle and high school students
  • Lack of inclusivity of meals for different cultural groups or dietary needs

Strategies that move breakfast out of the cafeteria and into the classroom are the most successful at overcoming barriers to participation.

What is Free School Breakfast and how do I access it?

In Oregon, the majority of schools serve School Breakfast before school starts and in the cafeteria. However, this traditional way of operating the school breakfast program doesn’t work for many students, and creates extra barriers for families who might have trouble accessing food. The School Breakfast Program (SBP) provides federal reimbursements to providers who operate nonprofit breakfast programs in schools and residential childcare institutions. The program is administered at the Federal level by the USDA and at the State level by the Oregon Department of Education. More information about the School Breakfast Program is available here. 

Over 315,000 kids are eligible for free or reduced-price meals through the School Breakfast Program and the National School Lunch Program, and yet only about 206,000 kids participate.  In Oregon, around 273,000 students are eligible for free or reduced-price meals, yet only 110,000 students are enrolled. You may be eligible for free school meals even if you weren’t in the past. Thanks to legislation passed in 2019, the income eligibility guidelines for families have been expanded, making all families making 300% of the federal poverty level eligible for free school meals in Oregon. Due to the pandemic, this process will be delayed until schools return to their normal in-person instruction/operations. Check in with your local school district for more details or on how to fill out a Free and Reduced Price meal application or fill out the application with the Oregon Department Of Education.

Want more information about free and reduced price school meals or interested in finding out if your family is eligible?

Find out here

State Advocacy efforts: The Student Success Act

Oregon has been leading the nation in improving access to school meals. The Hunger-Free Schools provisions were signed into law by Governor Kate Brown on May 16, 2019 as part of the landmark Student Success Act, which addresses decades of disinvestment in Oregon’s schools. The Act has made a historic investment in school meals and will ensure no student goes hungry while at school, with provisions that address both the cost of meals and the way breakfast is served. Learn more at https://oregonhunger.org/hunger-free-schools/

The provision has three main components:

If you are a school, site, or family who has been impacted by this legislation, please look below in the training and tools section or the success stories to learn more about different types of models. It is important to note that all of these changes will potentially begin in the 2021-22 school year due to delays caused by the COVID Pandemic.

Over 310,000 Children

Over 310,000 Children

are eligible for free school breakfast, but only about 110,000 participate.

are eligible for free school breakfast, but only about 110,000 participate.

Help us connect more kids to school breakfast through the work of Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon.

donate today

Additional Resources

In Oregon, the majority of schools serve School Breakfast before school starts and in the cafeteria. However, this traditional way of operating the school breakfast program doesn’t work for many children, as it can create unnecessary barriers for low-income families.

Schools that move breakfast out of the cafeteria and after the bell are the most successful at overcoming barriers to participation and School Breakfast Program participation increases exponentially. This way of serving breakfast is called the Breakfast After the Bell model. It makes breakfast participation convenient by serving it in places children can easily access — in classrooms, in hallway kiosks, or even later in the morning.  The way schools serve breakfast is customizable and frequent methods include: Grab and Go, Second Chance, or Breakfast in the Classroom.

Over 100 schools in Oregon have successfully made the switch to serving breakfast after the bell.

Interested in revamping your school’s breakfast program?

Breakfast after the Bell Implementation Guide

VIEW

Breakfast After the Bell Toolkit for Teachers, Principals, and Other Educators

VIEW

The first step in changing the way your school serves breakfast is to evaluate what service model would work best for their students and staff.

Download the below materials for best practices, resources, and local partners for offering DIY or structured activities.

NHK Breakfast FAQ 

VIEW

Smarter Lunches Cafeteria Scorecard

VIEW

FRAC Breakfast After the Bell Program

VIEW

NHK Breakfast Changes Rollout Timeline

VIEW

FRAC Alternative Models Fact Sheet

VIEW

Promoting the School Breakfast Program and raising awareness. Use the materials below to get the word out in your school, in the media, at community locations, and online.

Breakfast Banner

VIEW

School Breakfast Poster

VIEW

Breakfast Family Flyer

VIEW

Funding opportunities for child nutrition programs in Oregon, especially around the School Breakfast Program.

Oregon Department of Education Grants

For several years, the Oregon State Legislature has designated state funds for the expansion of summer and after school child nutrition programs, including programs that serve breakfasts throughout the summer. Application materials can be found on the Department of Education website or by contacting ODE CNP Specialist Deanna Poynor at [email protected]

Additionally,  with the new breakfast mandates, grants may be available for equipment and program costs for schools starting new Breakfast After the Bell models for the academic year 2021-2022.  Check the Oregon Department of Education Breakfast After the Bell webpage for updates and to be notified when grant funding will be available.  For more information, please contact ODE Child Nutrition Programs at [email protected].

USDA grants

USDA currently offers Equipment Assistance Grants for School Food Authorities The current grant cycle is open until September 2022. State agencies competitively award equipment assistance grants to eligible school food authorities (SFAs) participating in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), giving priority to high need schools (i.e., schools in underserved areas, schools with limited access to other resources, and age of food service equipment) where 50 percent or more of the enrolled students are eligible for free or reduced price meals.

These funds will allow SFAs to purchase equipment to serve healthier meals that meet the updated meal patterns, with emphasis on more fruits and vegetables in school meals, improve food safety, and expand access. For additional resources through USDA, please visit their grants page.

Oregon Dairy and Nutrition Council Grants

Through the Fuel up to Play 60 Grants up to $4,000 per school is available for healthy eating and physical activity initiatives. The application closes Wednesday, April 28, 2021. For more information, Contact Erin Hirte at [email protected] or Crista Hawkins at [email protected].

Share Our Strength’s No Kid Hungry Campaign

The No Kid Hungry campaign frequently has opportunities for School Breakfast Program funding, check their website for updates. These include the No Kid Hungry and Kellogg School Breakfast Grant and No Kid Hungry and Amazon Breakfast After the Bell Grant. If you have any questions about the application, please contact via email at [email protected] or call 202-649-4342.

Model Programs

Schools across Oregon have found that substantially more children eat breakfast when it is served after the bell and free of charge for all students, when viable. By offering breakfast after the bell, as part of the school day, schools can eliminate barriers such as bus schedules and stigma that get in the way of students eating this important meal.

Breakfast after the Bell programs can look many different ways. Common models for this type of breakfast program are: Breakfast in the Classroom, Grab and Go breakfast, and Second Chance breakfast.

Universal Breakfast, where breakfast is offered at no cost to students, is a helpful addition to any breakfast model, as it removes the financial barriers students may face when participating in School Breakfast Programs.  Offering breakfast at no cost increases breakfast participation, and removes stigma lower-income students often face when they eat breakfast at school. Schools can enroll in a few federal programs to assist with offering universal breakfast, including the Community Eligibility Provision and Provision 2.

Fact sheet on Federal Programs and Funding OptionsWatch: Video on Free Breakfast

Second Chance Breakfast

This model is effective for middle or high school students who may not be hungry first thing in the morning, don’t arrive in time, or prefer to socialize with friends in the morning before class. In a Second Chance Breakfast model, students eat breakfast during a break in the morning, often between first and second period. Schools often serve breakfast in the hallway using a Grab and Go model, or they can open the cafeteria to serve breakfast during the break.

School Spotlight: Woodburn High School, Woodburn School District

Learn more about Woodburn High School’s Second Chance Breakfast Program

watch here

Breakfast in the Classroom

In the Breakfast in the Classroom model, Students eat breakfast in their classroom after the official start of the school day. Students or staff deliver breakfasts to classrooms from the cafeteria via coolers or insulated rolling bags. Students eat while the teacher takes attendance, gives announcements and gets the day started. Up to 15 minutes can count as instructional time, the average length this model takes.

School Spotlight: Grandhaven Elementary, McMinnville School District

Learn more about  Grandhaven Elementary’s Breakfast in the Classroom Program

watch here

Grab and Go

Students pick up breakfasts from mobile carts in areas that are convenient to students, such as hallways, entryways, or cafeterias. Students can eat in their classroom or in a common area before and after the bell has rung.