幫助俄勒岡人把食物放在桌子上

每個人都有獲得食物的權利。 在俄勒岡無飢餓合作夥伴計劃中,我們正在努力爭取有一天我們的州實現無飢餓; 當每個俄勒岡人——從兒童到成人再到老年人——都健康、茁壯成長,因為他們可以獲得負擔得起的、有營養的食物。

我們工作的一個基石是設計和實施項目,將處於飢餓風險中的俄勒岡州人與可用的聯邦營養計劃聯繫起來,幫助人們在學校環境和暑假期間購買食物和為兒童準備好膳食。

該計劃網絡構成了防止飢餓減少我國許多人貧困的安全網。 我們與全州的合作夥伴合作,確保每個人都能獲得這些資源,並通過外展來縮小差距。

補充營養援助計劃 (SNAP)

SNAP 是一項聯邦計劃,其重點是為低收入的俄勒岡人提供健康營養的食物。 該計劃在減少兒童飢餓和營養不良方面取得了巨大成功。 目前,每月有超過 26 萬美國人,包括超過 600,000 名俄勒岡人,領取 SNAP 福利。

Oregon Trail 卡上提供的 SNAP 福利在社會中產生了積極的連鎖反應,並且在今天與該計劃開始時一樣重要。 家庭、老年人、殘疾人和辛勤工作的俄勒岡人能夠獲得他們留在學校、保住工作和保持食物供應所需的支持。

自 2006 年成立以來,PHFO 設計並實施了一些項目,通過對符合條件的俄勒岡州人的有效溝通、外展和申請援助來改善計劃的獲取。 我們為有興趣將人們與 SNAP 聯繫起來的社區合作夥伴提供培訓,並與全州的合作夥伴密切合作,以改善對所有人的服務。

學校餐

通過美國農業部 (USDA) 的食品和營養服務部,可以使用多種營養計劃為在校兒童提供健康食品。

這些計劃由俄勒岡州教育部管理,為所有兒童提供早餐、午餐、校內小吃以及放學後的餐點和小吃。

一些兒童有資格獲得這些服務,父母無需支付任何費用,而另一些兒童只需支付少量費用即可獲得膳食。

這些計劃有助於預防飢餓和肥胖,並為學生提供充分利用學習的最佳機會。 俄勒岡州約有 315,000 名學生有資格享用免費或減價餐,但學校只有約 210,000 份午餐和 110,000 份早餐。

俄勒岡無飢餓合作夥伴設計和實施的項目側重於縮小符合條件的兒童數量與在學校獲得免費或減價膳食的符合條件的兒童數量之間的差距。

儘早將學生連接到這些可用資源可確保他們能夠快樂健康地成長!

放學時的暑期餐

數以千計的俄勒岡州兒童在學年期間參加學校營養活動。 通過美國農業部,夏季食品服務計劃 (SFSP) 為組織提供資金,以便在暑假放學期間為兒童提供膳食。

在有資格在學校免費或減價用餐的 315,000 多名兒童中,只有大約 35,000 名兒童在整個夏季獲得免費餐食,這使得在一年中本應在學校享受樂趣的時間裡面臨飢餓的孩子數量巨大。太陽!

俄勒岡無飢餓合作夥伴與俄勒岡州教育部合作設計計劃和乾預措施,以增加提供夏季膳食的站點數量,從而增加向依賴它們的社區提供免費夏季膳食的機會。

我們專注於為開始新服務或擴大現有服務的當地社區提供全州計劃外展、技術援助和贈款。

幫助將社區和家庭與夏季膳食聯繫起來

了解更多

Helping Oregonians put food on the table

Everyone has a right to food. At Partners for a Hunger-­Free Oregon, we are working toward a day when our state is hunger-­free; when every Oregonian ­- from kids to adults to seniors – is healthy and thriving because they have access to affordable, nourishing food.

A cornerstone of our work is to design and implement projects that connect Oregonians at risk of hunger to the federal nutrition programs available, helping people with the ability to purchase food and access prepared meals for children within the school environment and during summer break.

This network of programs makes up the safety-net that prevents hunger reduces poverty for many people in our country. We work with partners across the state to ensure everyone has access to these resources, using outreach to close the gap.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

SNAP is a federal program that focuses on putting healthy and nutritious food within reach for low income Oregonians. The program has been a tremendous success in reducing childhood hunger and malnutrition. Currently, more than 26 million Americans, including over 600,000 Oregonians, receive SNAP benefits each month.

SNAP benefits, provided on the Oregon Trail card, create a positive ripple effect in society, and are as essential today as they were when the program began. Families, older adults, people with disabilities, and hard-working Oregonians are able to get the support they need to stay in school, keep their jobs, and keep food on the table.

Since our inception in 2006, PHFO has designed and implemented projects that improve program access through effective communication, outreach and application assistance for eligible Oregonians. We provide trainings to community partners who are interested in connecting people to SNAP, and work closely with partners across the state to improve services for all.

School Meals

Through the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Food and Nutrition Service Department, several nutrition programs are available that provide healthy food to children in school.

Administered by the Oregon Department of Education, these programs make available breakfast, lunch, in-school snacks, and after school meals and snacks for all children.

Some children are eligible for these services at not cost to the parents, and others can access meals through paying a small fee.

These programs help prevent hunger and obesity, and give students the best opportunity to make the most of learning. Approximately 315,000 students across Oregon are eligible for free or reduced price meals, however only about 210,000 access lunch, and 110,000 access breakfast in school.

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon designs and implements projects that focus on closing the gap between the number of children that are eligible, and the number of eligible children accessing free or reduced cost meals in school.

Connecting students to these available resources early on ensures that they are able to grow up happy and healthy!

Summer Meals when school is out

Thousands of Oregon children participate in school nutrition during the school year. Through the USDA, the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) provides funds for organizations to serve meals to children during the summer when school is not in session.

Of the 315,000+ children eligible for free or reduced price meals in school, only about 35,000 access free meals through the summer, leaving a huge gap of kids who are faced with hunger through a time of year that is supposed to be about fun in the sun!

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon, in partnership with the Oregon Department of Education, designs programs and interventions to increase the number of sites serving summer meals, increasing the availability of free summer meals to communities that rely on them.

We focus on providing statewide program outreach, technical assistance and grant funding to local communities starting new or expanding existing services.

Help connect communities and families to Summer Meals

learn more