俄勒岡州波特蘭市 - 無飢餓俄勒岡合作夥伴俄勒岡食品銀行 慶祝對抗兒童飢餓鬥爭中的一個重要里程碑。 隨著最近的立法批准,俄勒岡州準備參與 夏季電子福利轉移(夏季 EBT) 該計劃將於今年啟動,確保在夏季為超過 294,000 名俄勒岡州兒童和家庭提供重要支援。

俄勒岡州無飢餓政策倡導者合作夥伴查理克魯斯 (Charlie Krouse) 慶祝了這一消息,並表示:「這對俄勒岡州來說是一個重要時刻。我們參與夏季 EBT 計劃證明了我們致力於確保每個孩子無論在什麼季節都能獲得營養膳食的承諾。我們正在共同朝著實現無飢餓的俄勒岡州邁出大膽的一步。”

夏季EBT 計劃是一項聯邦政府舉措,將在夏季期間為符合條件的家庭提供每月40 美元的額外補助,為期三個月,用於購買雜貨,以解決孩子們在暑假期間無法獲得學校膳食而留下的嚴重缺口。 事實證明,這項措施有助於減少兒童飢餓,參與家庭經歷了 夏季兒童飢餓人數減少 33%.

參加夏季 EBT 正值關鍵時刻 俄勒岡州的飢餓現象正在加劇 經過多年的穩定下降。俄勒岡州估計,夏季 EBT 將在未來兩年內為面臨最高糧食不安全風險的家庭提供超過 70 萬美元的直接糧食援助福利。這些聯邦福利預計將在此期間推動俄勒岡州經濟約 105 億美元,這也將為食品供應鏈中的雜貨店和企業提供支援。

俄勒岡州已獲得該計劃的初步批准,正在等待美國農業部食品和營養局的最終授權。一旦獲得完全批准,該計劃暫定於今年 120 月啟動,在整個暑假期間為每個兒童提供 XNUMX 美元的食品福利。雖然許多家庭將自動獲得福利,但其他家庭則需要申請才能獲得這項重要援助。有關如何申請的詳細資訊將在發布後立即分享。

在俄勒岡州等待最終批准之際,俄勒岡州教育部和俄勒岡州人類服務部正在努力完成計劃後勤工作,並確保向符合條件的兒童無縫提供福利。

除了夏季 EBT 計劃外,俄勒岡州還慶祝旨在解決飢餓及其根本原因的其他立法勝利。本次會議重點在於經濟適用房和穩定住房; 獲得托兒服務平等獲得熱食 適合在準備飲食時遇到困難的個人,包括老年人和無家可歸的人。這些措施是創造更公平和糧食安全的俄勒岡州的重要步驟。

俄勒岡州食品銀行公共政策倡導者 Sammi Teo 強調了這些努力的更廣泛影響,「俄勒岡州透過夏季 EBT 計劃以及經濟適用住房和兒童保育投資等舉措來解決飢餓問題的承諾值得讚揚。通過解決飢餓的根本原因,我們正在為所有人創造一個更有彈性和更公平的俄勒岡州。”

###

照片說明 A:

一家人提著雜貨回家。 照片由俄勒岡州食品銀行提供

照片說明 B:

兄弟姐妹共享等待午餐的快樂時刻。 照片由俄勒岡州食品銀行提供

照片說明 C:

一家人一起分享小吃。 照片由俄勒岡州食品銀行提供


關於俄勒岡州零飢餓合作夥伴

在俄勒岡州無飢餓合作夥伴,我們與那些受飢餓和貧困影響最嚴重的人一起努力,倡導系統性變革和更好地獲取食物。我們相信每個人都有權利免於飢餓。為了將這一願景變為現實,我們提高人們對飢餓的認識,將人們與營養計劃聯繫起來,並倡導系統性變革。

www.oregonhunger.org 

關於俄勒岡州食物銀行在俄勒岡州食物銀行,我們相信食物和健康是所有人的基本人權。我們知道,飢餓不僅僅是一種個人經驗;它也是一種經驗。這也是就業、教育、住房和醫療保健障礙的全社會症狀。這就是為什麼我們有系統地致力於消除俄勒岡州飢餓的使命:我們建立社區聯繫,幫助人們今天獲得營養豐富、負擔得起的食物,我們建立社區力量,以永遠消除飢餓的根源。線上加入我們: 俄勒岡食品銀行.org 和社群媒體上的@oregonfoodbank。

Portland, ORPartners for a Hunger-Free Oregon and Oregon Food Bank celebrate a significant milestone in the fight against childhood hunger. With recent legislative approval, Oregon is poised to participate in the Summer Electronic Benefit Transfer (Summer EBT) program starting this year, ensuring vital support for over 294,000 Oregon children and families during the summer months.

Charlie Krouse, Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon Policy Advocate, celebrated the news, stating, “This is a momentous occasion for Oregon. Our participation in the Summer EBT program is a testament to our commitment to ensuring every child has access to nourishing meals, regardless of the season. Together, we’re taking a bold step towards a hunger-free Oregon.”

The Summer EBT program, a federal initiative, will provide eligible families an additional $40 per month for three months during the summer for groceries, addressing the critical gap left when children lose access to school meals during summer break. This initiative has proven instrumental in reducing child hunger, with participating families experiencing a 33 percent decrease in child hunger during the summer months.

Participation in Summer EBT comes at a critical time when hunger is on the rise in Oregon after years of steady decline. Oregon estimates Summer EBT will support families at the highest risk of food insecurity with over $70 million in direct food assistance benefits over the next two years. These federal benefits are estimated to boost Oregon’s economy by about $105 million during this period, which will also support grocery stores and businesses in the food supply chain.

Oregon has received initial approval for the program, pending final authorization from the USDA Food and Nutrition Service. Once fully approved, the program is tentatively scheduled to launch this June, providing $120 in food benefits per child throughout the summer break. While many families will receive benefits automatically, others will need to apply to access this vital assistance. Detailed information on how to apply will be shared as soon as it becomes available.

As Oregon awaits final approval, the Oregon Department of Education and Oregon Department of Human Services are diligently working to finalize program logistics and ensure seamless delivery of benefits to eligible children.

In addition to the Summer EBT program, Oregon celebrates other legislative wins aimed at addressing hunger and its root causes. This session saw critical investments in affordable and stable housing; access to childcare; and equal access to hot foods for individuals facing difficulties in meal preparation, including seniors and those experiencing houselessness. These initiatives are essential steps toward creating a more equitable and food-secure Oregon.

Sammi Teo, Public Policy Advocate with Oregon Food Bank, emphasized the broader impact of these efforts, “Oregon’s commitment to addressing hunger through initiatives like the Summer EBT program and investments in affordable housing and childcare is commendable. By addressing the root causes of hunger, we are creating a more resilient and equitable Oregon for all.”

###

PHOTO CAPTION A:

Family heads home with groceries. Photo courtesy Oregon Food Bank

PHOTO CAPTION B:

Siblings share a joyful moment awaiting lunch. Photo courtesy Oregon Food Bank

PHOTO CAPTION C:

Family shares a snack together. Photo courtesy Oregon Food Bank


ABOUT PARTNERS FOR A HUNGER-FREE OREGON

At Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon, we work alongside those most impacted by hunger and poverty to advocate for systemic changes and better access to food. We believe everyone has the right to be free from hunger.  To bring that vision into reality, we raise awareness about hunger, connect people to nutrition programs, and advocate for systemic changes.

www.oregonhunger.org 

ABOUT OREGON FOOD BANKAt Oregon Food Bank, we believe that food and health are basic human rights for all. We know that hunger is not just an individual experience; it is also a community-wide symptom of barriers to employment, education, housing and health care. That’s why we work systemically in our mission to end hunger in Oregon: we build community connections to help people access nutritious, affordable food today, and we build community power to eliminate the root causes of hunger for good. Join us online at OregonFoodBank.org and @oregonfoodbank on social media.