مشكلة لا يمكننا تجاهلها

مع استمرار جائحة COVID-19 ، ما زلنا نتعلم المزيد عن شكل الجوع والفقر الآن. توقعت التوقعات المبكرة من سبتمبر 2021 أن الجوع كان أسوأ بكثير من الفترة التي سبقت الوباء ، حيث يقدر أن 1 من كل 4 من سكان أوريغون يعانون من الجوع ، مما يؤدي إلى مضاعفة الجوع.

اعتبارًا من تقرير صدر في أكتوبر 2021 ، رأينا أن هذه القفزة المتوقعة لم تحدث تمامًا كما هو مخطط لها وكما يمكننا أن نقول الآن ، ظل معدل الأمن الغذائي ثابتًا إلى حد كبير منذ فترة ما قبل الجائحة ، مع حوالي 1 من كل 10 من سكان أوريغون تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، وفقًا لهذا التقرير من OSU.

يعد المعدل الثابت لانعدام الأمن الغذائي أثناء الجائحة بمثابة ائتمان للدعم الاجتماعي السريع ، في وقت كانت فيه المصاعب الاقتصادية لا يمكن إنكارها. استجابةً للوباء ، تمت زيادة مزايا برنامج SNAP ، وتم توسيع استحقاقات البطالة ، ووضعت شيكات التحفيز الأموال في جيوب الناس ، وتم تقليل عمليات الإخلاء ، والأهم من ذلك ، تدخلت المساعدة المتبادلة والمجتمعية لمساعدة الأفراد والأسر في الأمان والموارد.

تساهم العديد من العوامل المختلفة في إنهاء الجوع ويتطلب القيام بذلك معالجة ذات مغزى للإسكان والتوظيف ورعاية الأطفال والعنصرية وتجارب عنف الدولة والتهميش وغير ذلك الكثير.

الوضع الحالي للجوع في ولاية أوريغون

تعلم المزيد

الجوع هو قضية إنصاف

الجوع يضرنا جميعًا كمجتمع ، لكنه يؤثر على البعض منا في ولاية أوريغون أكثر من الآخرين.

لقد التزم شركاء من أجل ولاية أوريغون خالية من الجوع منذ فترة طويلة بمعالجة عدم المساواة الاقتصادية من أجل إنجاز مهمتنا ، ونشير إلى الفقر باعتباره أحد الأسباب الجذرية الواضحة للجوع. ذكرت واحدة من كل عشر عائلات في ولاية أوريغون أنها لا تملك المال باستمرار لشراء ما يكفي من الطعام المغذي.

نحن نعلم أن هناك أسبابًا جذرية أخرى - حتى أعمق وأكثر تعقيدًا منسوجة في البنية الجذرية لمجتمعنا - مثل العنصرية النظامية والتمييز على أساس الجنس.

من بين أولئك الذين يعانون من الفقر ، يكون بعض الناس أكثر عرضة لخطر الجوع. يؤثر انعدام الأمن الغذائي بشكل غير متناسب على المجتمعات الملونة والمهاجرين الجدد والأسر التي لديها أطفال وخاصة الأسر التي تقودها الأمهات العازبات والأشخاص ذوو الإعاقة ومجتمع LGBTQ والأشخاص في المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون.

نحن ببساطة لن نحقق رؤيتنا لولاية أوريغون الخالية من الجوع ، حيث يتمتع الجميع بصحة جيدة ويزدهرون ، دون التركيز بشكل خاص على منع الجوع لهذه المجموعات من الناس.

انضم إلينا في القضاء على الجوع

تبرع اليوم

يتطلب القضاء على الجوع معالجة الأسباب الجذرية

في سعينا لتحقيق الإنصاف والعدالة ، نعيد التأكيد على الإعلان التأسيسي لفريق العمل المعني بالجوع في ولاية أوريغون والذي ينص على أن "جميع الأشخاص لهم الحق في التحرر من الجوع" ونعيد الالتزام بالعمل نيابة عن أولئك الذين يُحرمون بشكل غير متناسب من هذا الحق.

في تطوير الخطة الاستراتيجية 2016-18، سمعنا من العشرات من الشركاء والمتطوعين والأشخاص (رابط البحث عن صفحة الأمن الغذائي) التي نخدمها حول أفضل السبل لزيادة الأمن الغذائي خلال العامين المقبلين. والنتيجة هي مجموعة واضحة من الأهداف والتركيز على ثلاثة أهداف: السعي لتحقيق العدالة ، وبناء حركة مناهضة للجوع وتعزيز قدرة منظمتنا.

هناك دور للجميع!

اتخذ إجراءات للقضاء على الجوع من خلال التحدث

لمعرفة المزيد

A problem we cannot ignore

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues, we are still learning more about what hunger and poverty look like now. Early projections from September 2021 had predicted that hunger was much worse than the period before the pandemic, with an estimated 1 in 4 Oregonians experiencing hunger, which would have doubled hunger.

As of a report released in October 2021, we have seen that that expected jump did not happen exactly as planned and as we can tell now, the food security rate has remained largely flat from the pre-pandemic period, with around 1 in 10 Oregonians experiencing food insecurity, according to this report from OSU.

It will take years to be able to fully understand why this increase did not occur, but we know that hunger does not exist in a vacuum. In response to the pandemic, SNAP benefits were increased, more unemployment benefits were offered, stimulus checks put money in peoples’ pockets, evictions were reduced and importantly, mutual and community aid stepped in to help individuals and families safe and resourced. So many different factors contribute to ending hunger and doing so requires meaningfully addressing housing, employment, childcare, racism, experiences of state violence and marginalization and so much more.

The current status of hunger in Oregon

Learn More

Hunger is an equity issue

Hunger harms us all as a society, but it impacts some of us in Oregon far more than others.

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon has long been committed to addressing economic inequality in order to accomplish our mission, and we point to poverty as one clear root cause of hunger. One in seven families in Oregon reports not consistently having the money to purchase enough nourishing food.

We know there are other root causes—even deeper and more complexly woven into the root structure of our society—like systemic racism and sexism.

Among those experiencing poverty some people are at far greater risk of hunger. Food insecurity disproportionately impacts communities of color, recent immigrants, families with children and particularly households led by single mothers, people with disabilities, the LGBTQ community and people in rural areas of Oregon.

We simply won’t achieve our vision of a hunger free Oregon, where everyone is healthy and thriving, without specifically focusing on preventing hunger for these groups of people.

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Donate Today

Ending hunger requires addressing root causes

In our pursuit of equity and justice, we reaffirm the founding declaration of the Oregon Hunger Task Force that “All Persons Have the Right to be Free from Hunger” and recommit to work on behalf of those disproportionately denied that right.

In developing our 2016-18 Strategic Plan, we heard from dozens of partners, volunteers and people (link to finding food security page) we serve about how to best increase food security over the next two years. The result is a clear set of objectives and a focus on three goals: pursuing equity, building the anti-hunger movement and strengthening the capacity of our organization.

There is a role for everyone!

Take action to end hunger by speaking up

learn more