我们不能忽视的问题

虽然俄勒冈州的饥饿人数有所减少,但仍然居高不下。 这是根据一个 美国农业部关于美国粮食不安全的新报告 2014-16 年间,近七分之一的俄勒冈家庭处于“粮食不安全”状态。

饥饿对我们所有人来说都是昂贵的。 Bread for the World 的 2016 年饥饿报告估计,饥饿和粮食不安全为美国的健康支出贡献了 160 亿美元。 我们通过降低学术和经济生产力、更多与饥饿有关的疾病以及更多地依赖人类服务和紧急食品计划来支付费用。

饥饿是一个具有长期后果的公共健康问题。 有证据表明,粮食不安全会导致肥胖和随之而来的健康问题,尤其是在女性中。 儿童粮食不安全会导致孩子一生的学业成绩不佳和健康受损,通常包括行为问题和社交困难。 营养不良的老年人报告心脏病发作的可能性要高 53%,患哮喘的可能性要高 52%,而患充血性心力衰竭的可能性要高 41%。

俄勒冈州的饥饿现状

了解更多

饥饿是一个公平问题

饥饿伤害了我们整个社会,但它对俄勒冈州的一些人的影响远远超过其他人。

俄勒冈无饥饿合作伙伴长期以来一直致力于解决经济不平等以完成我们的使命,我们指出贫困是饥饿的一个明显根源。 俄勒冈州七分之一的家庭报告称,他们始终没有钱购买足够的营养食品。

我们知道还有其他根本原因——甚至更深、更复杂地融入我们社会的根本结构——比如系统性种族主义和性别歧视。

在那些经历贫困的人中,有些人面临更大的饥饿风险。 粮食不安全对有色人种社区、新移民、有孩子的家庭,尤其是单身母亲、残疾人、LGBTQ 社区和俄勒冈州农村地区的人们产生了不成比例的影响。

如果不特别关注防止这些人群遭受饥饿,我们就无法实现我们对俄勒冈州无饥饿的愿景,在那里每个人都健康、茁壮成长。

加入我们消除饥饿

今天捐赠

消除饥饿需要解决根本原因

在我们追求公平和正义的过程中,我们重申俄勒冈饥饿工作组的创始宣言,即“所有人都有权免于饥饿”,并再次承诺代表那些被过度剥夺这一权利的人工作。

在开发我们的 2016-18年战略计划,我们听取了数十位合作伙伴、志愿者和我们服务的人员(链接到查找食品安全页面的链接)关于如何在未来两年内最好地提高食品安全的意见。 结果是一套明确的目标和三个目标的重点:追求公平、建立 反饥饿运动 并加强我们组织的能力。

每个人都有一个角色!

采取行动,通过畅所欲言结束饥饿

了解更多

A problem we cannot ignore

While hunger has been decreasing in Oregon, it remains persistently high. That’s according to a new USDA report on Food Insecurity in the U.S. Nearly one in seven Oregonian households were “food insecure” between 2014-16.

Hunger is expensive for all of us. The 2016 Hunger Report from Bread for the World estimated that hunger and food insecurity contribute $160 billion to America’s health bill. We pay through lowered academic and economic productivity, more hunger-related illnesses, and greater reliance on human services and emergency food programs.

Hunger is a public health concern with long-term consequences. There is evidence that food insecurity contributes to obesity and its subsequent health problems, particularly among women. Child food insecurity can result in poorer school achievement and compromised health throughout a child’s life, and often includes behavioral issues and social difficulties. Undernourished seniors are 53 percent more likely to report a heart attack, 52 percent more likely to develop asthma and 41 percent more likely to report an experience of congestive heart failure.

The current status of hunger in Oregon

Learn More

Hunger is an equity issue

Hunger harms us all as a society, but it impacts some of us in Oregon far more than others.

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon has long been committed to addressing economic inequality in order to accomplish our mission, and we point to poverty as one clear root cause of hunger. One in seven families in Oregon reports not consistently having the money to purchase enough nourishing food.

We know there are other root causes—even deeper and more complexly woven into the root structure of our society—like systemic racism and sexism.

Among those experiencing poverty some people are at far greater risk of hunger. Food insecurity disproportionately impacts communities of color, recent immigrants, families with children and particularly households led by single mothers, people with disabilities, the LGBTQ community and people in rural areas of Oregon.

We simply won’t achieve our vision of a hunger free Oregon, where everyone is healthy and thriving, without specifically focusing on preventing hunger for these groups of people.

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Donate Today

Ending hunger requires addressing root causes

In our pursuit of equity and justice, we reaffirm the founding declaration of the Oregon Hunger Task Force that “All Persons Have the Right to be Free from Hunger” and recommit to work on behalf of those disproportionately denied that right.

In developing our 2016-18 Strategic Plan, we heard from dozens of partners, volunteers and people (link to finding food security page) we serve about how to best increase food security over the next two years. The result is a clear set of objectives and a focus on three goals: pursuing equity, building the anti-hunger movement and strengthening the capacity of our organization.

There is a role for everyone!

E-News Sign Up

Receive monthly updates and action alerts.

Take action to end hunger by speaking up

learn more