每個孩子都應該有一個健康的開學日

捐款

我們對無飢餓學校的願景

我們設想為每個孩子提供全民校餐,俄勒岡州和每個州的所有 K-12 學生都可以免費享用校餐。 因為每個孩子都應該有平等的機會在學校取得成功——無論他們來自哪裡,也無論他們的家庭賺多少錢。

在學校獲得膳食有助於孩子學習、成長和茁壯成長。 但現實是俄勒岡州有太多的孩子經歷飢餓和糧食不安全。 和 俄勒岡州四分之一的兒童面臨糧食不安全,許多家庭依靠學校膳食來滿足他們的營養需求。 

俄勒岡州無飢餓合作夥伴致力於透過州和聯邦政策倡導來擴大學校供餐的範圍。 2019 年,我們領導聯盟透過《學生成功法案》擴大了該州免費學校餐的覆蓋範圍,使俄勒岡州成為全國學校餐點取得的領導者。 2022 年,我們在俄勒岡州立法中贏得了更多支持,允許俄勒岡州 3 所學校中的 4 所學校向所有學生提供全民學校餐點。 今天,我們在州和聯邦的倡導下繼續這項工作,為所有學生真正獲得學校膳食而奮鬥。 

為校餐採取行動

俄勒岡州家庭的強大勝利

無飢餓學校運動導致通過了一套全面的學校膳食政策,包括在 2019 年學生成功法案, 以顯著改善所有學生獲得學校膳食的機會。 我們努力確保法律旨在使處於飢餓風險最高的社區受益。 詳細了解我們的 2019 年無飢餓學校活動.

《學生成功法案》包括:

  1. 更多提供校餐的學校: 俄勒岡州正在補充聯邦學校膳食報銷,以便更多學校可以選擇加入一項計劃,允許他們免費提供所有學校膳食(社區資格規定)。 
  2. 更多有資格獲得免費校餐的孩子: 家庭收入在聯邦貧困線 (FPL) 的 185% 到 300% 之間的學生現在有資格免費享用膳食,糧食不安全家庭的比例增加了 37%。
  3. 鐘聲後早餐的顯著增加: 所有有 70% 或更多學生有資格享受聯邦免費或減價餐的學校現在都在開學後向所有學生提供免費早餐。

2023 年,俄勒岡州立法通過了眾議院法案5014 中對俄勒岡州學校的歷史性投資。HB 5014 包括提供資金支持最多四分之三的學校有資格獲得社區資格條款,並支持學校向所有學童提供普遍學校膳食!

我們期待支持學區在‘24-’25學年實施新方案,並繼續推動全民校餐 全部 俄勒岡州的學生。

了解更多關於免費學校餐的信息

「學生在學校可能會遇到很多問題,例如文書問題、就業變動、伙食債,甚至是恥辱。 幸運的是,政府在大流行期間做出的改變證明有更好的方法。 普遍提供膳食對我們的學校、家長和孩子都有好處,而且我們有真正的機會確保每個人都擁有成功所需的資源。”

– David Wieland,政策倡議者

採取行動消除飢餓

說出來

加入我們消除飢餓

加入我們消除飢餓

我們可以一起消除俄勒岡州的飢餓
今天捐贈

Every Child Deserves a Healthy Start to the School Day

Donate

Our Vision for Hunger-Free Schools

We envision universal school meals for every child, where school meals are free for all K-12 students in Oregon and in every state. Because every child deserves an equal opportunity to succeed in school — no matter where they’re from or how much money their families make.

Access to meals at school help kids learn, grow, and thrive. But the reality is that too many kids in Oregon experience hunger and food insecurity. With one in every four children in the state of Oregon being food insecure, many families rely on school meals for their nutritional needs. 

Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon works to expand access to school meals through state and federal policy advocacy. In 2019, we led the coalition expanding access to free school meals in the state through the Student Success Act, making Oregon the national leader in school meal access. In 2022, we won expanded supports in Oregon legislation that allow 3 of 4 Oregon schools to provide universal school meals to all students. Today, we continue this work with state and federal advocacy to fight for true access to school meals for ALL students. 

Take action for School Meals

Powerful Victories for Oregon Families

The Hunger-Free Schools campaign resulted in the passage of a comprehensive set of school meal policies, included in the 2019 Student Success Act, to significantly improve access to school meals for all students. We worked hard to ensure that the law was designed to benefit communities at the highest risk of hunger. Learn more about our 2019 Hunger Free Schools campaign.

The Student Success Act includes:

  1. More schools serving universal school meals: Oregon is supplementing the federal reimbursement for school meals so that more schools can opt into a program allowing them to provide all school meals free of charge (Community Eligibility Provision). 
  2. More kids qualifying for free school meals: Students whose families earn between 185% and 300% of the federal poverty line (FPL) now qualify for meals served at no charge, an increase of 37% of food insecure families.
  3. Dramatic increases to Breakfast After the Bell: All schools with 70% or more students eligible for federal free or reduced price meals are now making free breakfast available to all students after the school day begins.

In 2023, Oregon legislation passed a historic investment in Oregon schools in House Bill 5014. HB 5014 included funding to support up to 3 out of 4 schools to qualify for the Community Eligibility Provision, and support schools to provide universal school meals to all schoolchildren!

We look forward to supporting school districts in implementing the new option in the school year ’24-’25, and continuing to push for universal school meals for all Oregon students.

Learn More about Free School Meals

“There are so many ways a student can fall through the cracks and go hungry at school – paperwork issues, employment changes, meal debt, even stigma. Fortunately, the changes governments made during the pandemic proved there’s a better way. Universal access to meals is good for our schools, good for parents and good for kids — and we have a real chance to make sure everyone has the resources we need to succeed.”

– David Wieland, Policy Advocate

Take action to end hunger

Speak Up

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Together, we can end hunger in Oregon
Donate Today