我们相信每个大学生都有免于饥饿的权利,无家可归和经济困难。 无饥饿校园中心学生的经验做出改变,以确保所有学生都有他们实现梦想所需的资源和财政支持。

我们目前的工作

大学生需要更多的支持。 俄勒冈校园的基本需求规划、外展和支持系统不足。 这就是为什么我们要与俄勒冈学生协会和俄勒冈社区学院协会一起制定立法,开始解决大学生的需求。

HB 2835 为经历饥饿和贫困的大学生提供了获得机会的途径。 它在每个俄勒冈州公立社区学院和大学校园建立了一个福利导航器,以支持学生获得福利,如食品和住房援助,以满足他们的基本需求。

参与其中! 加入我们的电子邮件列表 及时了解让俄勒冈州立法机构了解支持大学生的重要性的机会。

伟大的学生挤压:飞涨的成本和未满足的基本需求正在影响学生的成功:对俄勒冈州的影响
俄勒冈无饥饿报告由希瑟 E. 金 (Heather E. King, MSW, Ph.D.) 撰写。 俄勒冈州立大学候选人

新研究在全国性研究的背景下突出了俄勒冈州的学生饥饿,指出了对经历边缘化的学生的具体影响的普遍问题,以及学生饥饿对学生成功的影响。 这项研究指出了州和机构的政策建议,以更好地满足学生的需求。

我们如何在这里

我们的大学饥饿工作始于 2018 年 XNUMX 月,当时俄勒冈大学的一名学生向我们寻求支持。 我们做了一些研究,联系了其他学生和大学校园,并与 俄勒冈饥饿特别工作组,我们举行了听力会议: 俄勒冈大学校园的饥饿和粮食不安全 在俄勒冈大学。  

作为倡导者,我们与俄勒冈州公共服务部密切合作,以确保每个人都能获得联邦营养计划。 2019 年 XNUMX 月,俄勒冈州公共服务部 重新解释了大学生资格的联邦语言 这使得俄勒冈州数以千计的大学生能够获得 SNAP 福利。 从那时起,我们一直在与来自全州各地的大学生和教职员工建立联系,以提供 SNAP 外展和技术培训 在大学校园里。 虽然这项工作对我们很重要,但对我们来说也是非常现实的,我们知道仅向学生提供食品储藏室和 SNAP 福利并不能解决粮食不安全问题——因此我们创建了 无饥饿校园运动


活动概览

无饥饿校园运动包括三个主要策略。 通过这些策略,我们旨在共同倡导州级变革,以结束俄勒冈大学生的饥饿和基本需求不安全感。

  1. 推广: SNAP 外展、技术援助以及与俄勒冈州社区学院和公立大学的协调
  2. 订婚戒指 与学生和利益相关者一起制定政策解决方案
  3. 宣传倡导 以大学生体验为中心的政策改进。

制定政策解决方案

2020 年 197 月和 11 月,无饥饿校园团队在俄勒冈州学生协会的支持下,开展了一系列校园聆听圈,并在全州范围内分享了一项在线调查。 我们要求学生分享他们在上大学期间解决食物和基本需求不安全感方面的经验,并请他们与我们分享无饥饿校园对他们的看法。 我们听取了俄勒冈州 XNUMX 所公立学院和大学的 XNUMX 名大学生的意见。 这是我们听到的:


71% 的学生表示他们在过去 12 个月内经历过粮食不安全

 20% 的学生在过去 12 个月内被认定为住房不安全


在租金或食物之间做出选择是一件非常现实的事情。

上学费用(学费、书本等)、住房费用、生活费用(账单等)、育儿费用和食物费用都是在学校取得成功的障碍。

“我个人买不起杂货,因为我有房租、学费和其他账单要付。” (波特兰州立大学,调查受访者)

“这是压倒性的。 我开始工作,我一直忙到凌晨 1、2 点,早上 7 点到学校。 我只是在工作,所以我可以支付我的食物并且没事。 它永远不够好。 我总是在飘。” (莱恩社区学院,听力圈参与者)

入不敷出很累。

许多学生每周必须工作 20 小时或更长时间才能负担学费、住房和支付账单。

今天的大学生看起来与过去大不相同。

今天的许多大学生也是父母,或者全职工作,同时兼顾许多责任。

“作为一个单独监护两个青少年的单身母亲,全职上大学和兼职工作是一个巨大的负担。 我每个月都在努力维持生计。 在这种压力下的身体损失是很多的。 我赚了 100 美元 [超过限额] 才有资格获得 SNAP。 [...] 满足我们基本的人类需求不应该是那么困难。” (波特兰州立大学,调查受访者)

“我的处境很黑暗。 我睡在帐篷里。 我不得不下载允许我们把它们放在哪里的城市条例。 [...] 他们可以直接说'这太碍眼了,你有 24 小时可以移动'。” (波特兰社区学院,答辩人)

住房不安全是大学生的危机。

并非所有大学生都住在宿舍,或与父母住在一起,甚至头顶上都有屋顶。

空腹是不可能成功的。

“当我的身体没有获得足够的营养时,我更有可能没有精力去上课。 所以,如果我去上课,我什么也学不到。 如果我呆在家里,即使结果相同,我也会因为不去而受到惩罚。” (西俄勒冈大学,听力圈参与者)

“即使你知道何时何地[去],所有的文书工作和合法性也可能真的令人困惑和不知所措。 每个不同的服务都有不同的要求。”  (林本顿社区学院,听力圈参与者)

学生需要更多的支持。

校园内的基本需求规划、外展和支持系统不足。 

没有我们,对我们来说什么都没有。

学生应该以决策过程为中心。

“我们希望行政人员和立法者能够倾听并理解我们并采取行动。” (西俄勒冈大学,听力圈参与者)

想在你的校园里做外展吗?

我们的 SNAP College Toolkit 包含您在大学校园开始或继续外展活动所需的资源。

了解更多

加入我们消除饥饿

加入我们消除饥饿

我们可以一起消除俄勒冈州的饥饿
今天捐赠

We believe that every college student has the right to be free from hunger,houselessness, and financial distress. Hunger-Free Campuses centers theexperiences of students to make changes that will ensure all students have theresources and financial support they need to achieve their dreams.

OUR CURRENT WORK

College students need more support. There are inadequate basic needs programming, outreach and support systems on Oregon campuses. That’s why we’re bringing legislation, along with Oregon Student Association and Oregon Community College Association, that starts to address college student needs.

HB 2835 provides pathways to opportunity for college students experiencing hunger and poverty. It establishes a Benefits Navigator on each Oregon public community college and university campus to support students in accessing benefits, like food and housing assistance, to meet their essential needs.

Get involved! Join our email list to stay up to date on opportunities to let the Oregon legislature know the importance supporting college students.

The Great Student Squeeze: Skyrocketing Costs and Unmet Basic Needs Are Impacting Student Success: Implications for Oregon
Hunger-Free Oregon report authored by Heather E. King, MSW, Ph.D. Candidate, Oregon State University

New research that highlights student hunger in Oregon within the context of nationwide research pointing to the widespread issue with specific impacts for students who experience marginalization, as well as the effect that student hunger has on student success. This research points to state and institution policy recommendations to better address student needs.

HOW WE GOT HERE

Our college hunger work began in January of 2018 when a student from the University of Oregon reached out to us asking for support. We did some research, reached out to other students and college campuses, and together, with the Oregon Hunger Task Force, we held a Listening Session: Hunger and Food Insecurity on College Campuses in Oregon at the University of Oregon.  

As advocates, we work closely with Oregon’s Department of Human Services to ensure that everyone has access to federal nutrition programs. In July of 2019, Oregon’s Department of Human Services reinterpreted the federal language for college student eligibility which allowed access to SNAP benefits for thousands of Oregon’s college students. Since then, we have been connecting with college students and staff from all across the state to provide SNAP Outreach and Technical Training on college campuses. While this work is important to us, it is also very real for us, and we know that just providing food pantries and SNAP benefits to students isn’t going to solve food insecurity – so we created the Hunger-Free Campuses campaign


CAMPAIGN OVERVIEW

The Hunger-Free Campuses campaign includes three primary strategies. With these strategies we aim to collectively advocate for state-level changes that end hunger and basic need insecurities for Oregon college students.

  1. Outreach: SNAP outreach, technical assistance, and coordination with Oregon community colleges and public universities
  2. Engagement with students and stakeholders to develop policy solutions
  3. Advocacy for policy improvements that center the experiences of college students.

CREATING POLICY SOLUTIONS

In January and February of 2020, the Hunger-Free Campuses Team, with support from the Oregon Student Association, conducted a series of on-campus listening circles and shared an online survey statewide. We asked students to share feedback about their experiences in navigating food and basic needs insecurities while attending college, and we asked them to share with us what a Hunger Free Campus would look like to them. We heard from 197 college students across 11 public colleges and universities in Oregon. Here is what we heard:


71% of students indicated they had experienced food insecurity in the last 12 months

 20% of students identified as being housing insecure in the last 12 months


Choosing between rent or food is a very real thing.

The cost of attending school (tuition, books, etc), the cost of housing, cost of living (bills, etc), cost of childcare, and the cost of food all present barriers to succeeding in school.

“I personally cannot afford to buy groceries because I have rent, tuition and other bills to pay.” (Portland State University, survey respondent)

“It’s overwhelming.  I got to work and I bust my ass until 1, 2 in the morning, come to school at 7 in the morning.  I’m just working so I can pay for my food and be alright.  It’s never good enough.  I’m always drifting.” (Lane Community College, listening circle participant)

Making ends meet is exhausting.

Many students have to work 20 or more hours per week just to afford tuition, housing, and to pay their bills.

Today’s college students look very different than in the past.

Many of today’s college students are also parents, or work full time, and juggle many responsibilities.

“Being a single mom with sole custody of two teenagers, attending college full time, and working part time is a tremendous load. I struggle to make ends meet every month. The physical toll of being under this amount of pressure is a lot. I make $100 [over the limit] to qualify for SNAP. […] It shouldn’t be this much of a struggle to meet our basic human needs.” (Portland State University, survey respondent)

“My situation is dark. I sleep in a tent. I had to download the city ordinance of where we’re allowed to put them up. […] They can literally say ‘this is an eyesore, you have 24 hours to move’.” (Portland Community College, respondent)

Housing insecurity is a crisis for college students.

Not all college students live in dorms, or with their parents, or even have a roof over their head.

You can’t be successful on an empty stomach.

“When I’m not getting enough nutrients into my body, I’m more likely to not feel energized to go to class.  So, if I do go to class, I’m not learning anything. If I stay home, I’m being penalized for not going even though it’s the same result.” (Western Oregon University, listening circle participant)

“Even if you do know when or where [to go], all the paperwork and legalities can be really confusing and overwhelming. Every different service has different requirements.”  (Linn-Benton Community College, listening circle participant)

Students need more support.

There are inadequate basic needs programming, outreach and support systems on campuses. 

Nothing for us, without us.

Students should be centered in decision making processes.

“What we want from the administrators and the legislators is that they listen and understand us and take action.” (Western Oregon University, listening circle participant)

Want to do outreach on your campus?

Our SNAP College Toolkit has the resources you need to start or continue outreach on your college campus.

Learn more

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Join Us in Ending Hunger

Together, we can end hunger in Oregon
Donate Today