年幼的孩子們在自助餐廳的餐桌上吃午餐時微笑著

加入無飢餓學校聯盟!

通過艾莉森基林

當孩子們開始上學時營養充足並準備好學習時,每個學生、教室、老師和社區都會變得更好。 俄勒岡州有機會成為全國第一個免費為面臨飢餓風險的兒童提供健康、美味的校餐的州——幫助每個學生學習、成長並在生活中取得成功!

無飢餓學校聯盟是我們對社區合作夥伴確定的需求的回應。 我們聽取了俄勒岡州各州和地方各級教育領導者的聲音,包括教師、營養服務提供者和社區領袖。 我們還在俄勒岡州的每個角落與家長和學生一起舉辦了 13 個聽力圈,聽取移民家庭、有色人種社區、農村家庭等的意見。

為什麼普遍獲得學校膳食?

  • 增加未來的潛力。 確保孩子們獲得健康食品是擺脫貧困的關鍵一步。 這對俄勒岡州有利。 當您擁有更強壯、更聰明、更健康的孩子時,您就會擁有更強壯、更聰明、更健康、更具經濟競爭力的狀態。
  • 學生成功。 在學校吃早餐的學生上學時間更長,考試成績提高,畢業率更高,成年後收入也更高。 這對孩子們有好處。 當孩子們持續獲得他們需要的食物時,他們會學到更多。
  • 減少污名。 普遍獲得膳食為所有學生提供了公平的競爭環境。 孩子們將不再因為吃學校餐而感到被孤立。 他們不再需要在課前與朋友閒逛或獲得急需的飯菜之間做出選擇。 只是同學們一起掰麵包而已。
  • 以孩子和在職父母的需求為中心。 在家長和學生的聆聽圈子中,全民用餐的想法成為一個關鍵問題。 普遍獲得膳食可以減輕忙碌的父母和家庭的一些負擔,並可以緩解早上公交車、交通和工作時間表的壓力。
  • 解決“福利懸崖”。 由於住房成本高昂,俄勒岡州 37% 經歷糧食不安全的兒童生活在收入為 t 的家庭中太多 為了證實。

在此情況說明書 (PDF) 中了解有關 HB 2760-1(無飢餓學校)和 HB 2765-1(響鈴後的早餐)的更多信息。

現在是時候了!

俄勒岡州在 2019 年有一個歷史性的機會,可以為我們的孩子提供在學校取得成功的工具,但我們無法獨自完成。 與我們的合作夥伴和盟友合作,我們相信我們可以使俄勒岡州成為美國第一個免費為每所公立學校中所有面臨飢餓的孩子提供校餐的州。

為了成功,我們需要您的幫助。 您會加入無飢餓學校聯盟嗎?

是的! 將我的組織添加到支持者列表中!

Young children smile as they eat lunch at a cafeteria table

Join the Hunger-Free Schools Coalition!

by Alison Killeen

Every student, classroom, teacher, and community is better off when kids start the school day well-nourished and ready to learn. Oregon has the opportunity to become the first state in the nation to offer healthy, tasty school meals to children at risk of hunger at no charge – helping every student learn, grow, and succeed in life!

The Hunger-Free Schools Coalition is our response to the need identified by community partners. We listened to voices across Oregon including leaders in education at the state and local levels, including teachers, nutrition service providers, and community leaders. We also hosted 13 listening circles with parents and students in every corner of Oregon, hearing from immigrant families, communities of color, rural households, and more.

Why Universal Access to School Meals?

  • Increase future potential. Ensuring kids get healthy food is a critical step on the path out of poverty. This is good for Oregon. When you have stronger, smarter, healthier kids, you have a stronger, smarter, healthier, more economically competitive state.
  • Student Success. Students who eat breakfast at school attend more days of school, show improvements in test scores, graduate at higher rates, and earn more as adults. This is good for kids. When children consistently get the food they need, they learn more.
  • Reduce stigma. Universal access to meals level the playing field for all students. Kids will no longer feel singled out for eating a school meal. They no longer have to choose between hanging out with friends before class or getting their much-needed meal. It’s just classmates breaking bread together.
  • Centers the needs of kids and working parents. In listening circles with parents and students, the idea of universal meals emerged as a key issue. Universal access to meals take some of the burden off of busy parents and families and can ease the stress of the morning routine of buses, transport, and work schedules.
  • Addresses the “Benefit Cliff.” Due to the high cost of housing, 37% of kids in Oregon who experience food insecurity are in households that earn too much to qualify.

Learn more about HB 2760-1 (Hunger-Free Schools) and HB 2765-1 (Breakfast after the Bell) in this fact sheet (PDF).

Now is the time!

Oregon has a historic opportunity in 2019 to give our kids the tools to succeed in school, but we can’t do it alone. Working with our partners and allies, we believe we can make Oregon the first state in the nation to serve school meals at no charge to all kids facing hunger at every public school.

To succeed, we need your help. Will you join the Hunger-Free Schools Coalition?

Yes! Add my organization to the list of supporters!