俄勒冈州的学校每年为数十万学生提供重要的营养。

校餐资格发生了变化

在 COVID-19 大流行期间,俄勒冈州和全国各地的数千名学生在学校获得了普遍的免费膳食. 各种联邦豁免意味着每个学生都可以在大流行期间获得免费早餐和午餐。

这些大流行豁免已经结束但是,俄勒冈州一项新的扩大学校膳食的法律已经上线。 联邦和州法律的变化将在不同的学校和不同的家庭中发挥不同的作用。

超过 300,000 名俄勒冈州儿童有资格通过学校早餐计划和全国学校午餐计划获得免费或减价餐,但只有不到一半的合格学生参与。

帮助宣传鼓励家庭申请免费校餐。

  1. 分享这个单页,“为什么家长应该填写学校膳食家庭收入表“,可在 越南语, 西班牙语, 简体中文, 繁体中文, 韩语, 阿拉伯语, 日本语, 英语俄语.
  2. 查看有关 2022-23 学年学校膳食以及如何申请的视频。
  3. 观看我们免费网络研讨会的录像,“俄勒冈州学校膳食资格的重大变化“。

我的孩子可以获得免费校餐吗?

您的孩子可以通过不同方式获得免费校餐。 有些方法是自动的,将在下面描述,但它们并不适用于所有家庭。

您可以做的最重要的事情是填写一份关于家庭收入的表格,您孩子的学校应该在学年开始时将其寄回家,称为“俄勒冈州免费和减价膳食保密家庭申请”。 请务必填写该表格并确保您的孩子将其交还给学校. (如果您的家庭收入下降,您也可以填写一份新表格。)如果您的孩子没有将此表格带回家并且他们还没有获得免费膳食,请向您的学校索取该表格的副本。 您也可以使用英语或西班牙语直接在线提交表格。

更多儿童可以获得免费餐点

2019 年,俄勒冈州立法机构通过了一项法律,大幅增加了俄勒冈州公立学校有资格获得免费校餐的儿童人数,为家庭提供了他们学生成功所需的额外支持。 该法律因 COVID 而被推迟,但在 2022-23 学年生效。

这意味着,您的孩子现在可能可以获得免费的校餐,即使他们在大流行之前没有。 谁有资格获得免费膳食取决于家庭收入。 下面显示了 2022-23 学年的限制。

有关申请的更多信息

2022-2023 学年收入资格指南

如果您的家庭收入等于或低于下表中的限制,您的孩子如果就读公立学校、公立特许学校和教育服务区计划,就可以获得免费校餐。 (较低的收入水平适用于私立学校。)

申请免费校餐时不考虑移民身份。 免费校餐不是公共负担测试的一个因素。


获得其他联邦福利

如果他们的家庭从以下方面获得福利,无论金额多少,孩子们都可以获得免费的校餐:

  • 补充营养援助计划(SNAP),
  • 贫困家庭临时援助 (TANF),或
  • 印第安保留地食品分发计划 (FDPIR)

其他资格情况

在以下情况下,儿童还可以获得免费餐点:

  • 他们参加 Head Start 或
  • 正在寄养

最后,如果孩子符合以下条件,他们也有资格:  

  • 无家可归或离家出走,或 
  • 是移民。

您孩子所在的学区将有一名工作人员帮助确定您的孩子是否属于这些类别。

如何申请

家庭必须提交 每年获得免费和减价校餐的新申请,除非学校已经告诉您您的孩子有资格进入新学年。 通常,由户主填写并签署申请。 A 家庭 是作为一个经济单位生活的一组相关或非相关个人。 (这不包括寄宿公寓或机构。)

我们鼓励您申请。 您可以在一年中的任何时间申请,而不仅仅是在开学时。 如果您的家庭收入在这一年中下降或您暂时失业,即使您在该学年早些时候被拒绝,您的孩子也可能有资格获得免费校餐。

步驟二

您可以通过以下两种方式之一提交申请:

通过您当地的学区:您应该在学年开始时收到有关免费和减价膳食申请的信息。 如果您没有收到此信息,请联系您当地的学校办公室,询问学校供餐申请或访问他们的网站。 您的学区提供中文、俄语、索马里语、越南语、西班牙语和英语的纸质申请。

OR

通过 俄勒冈州教育部的在线申请(提供英语和西班牙语版本)

立即申请

步驟二

您的资格已确定。 您应该从您的学校或学区收到一封或两封资格通知信,说明您的学生是否已获得免费和减价校餐福利的批准或拒绝。 您可以收到:

  • 一封信,说您家中的孩子有资格获得免费的联邦膳食。
  • 您可能会收到一封信,说您没有资格获得免费的联邦膳食。 如果您收到这样的信件,您也没有资格参加俄勒冈州 EIG 计划(但不会发出第二封信)
  • 如果您的孩子上公立学校,您实际上可能会收到两封信。 您可能会收到一封信,说您的孩子没有资格根据联邦学校膳食计划获得免费膳食,但您还会收到第二封信,说您的孩子将根据俄勒冈州的扩大收入资格 (EIG) 计划获得免费膳食。  

步驟二

您的学生可以开始访问免费学校 早餐、午餐和课后小吃.

仍然欢迎并鼓励不符合根据其收入获得免费和减价校餐福利的家庭购买校餐,并且可以通过联系他们的学校来支付费用。

您知道吗,大多数学校都提供多项计划,以确保符合条件的儿童可以在学校享用营养餐。 膳食计划包括:

新的 俄勒冈州教育局 通过管理这些程序 儿童营养计划部,与每所学校的营养人员合作。 参与允许学校获得每份早餐、午餐、晚餐或小吃的报销。 作为回报,学校提供符合美国农业部标准的营养餐。

在俄勒冈州,由于额外的州资助,所有有资格获得减价餐的儿童现在都可以免费获得。 要了解与学校供餐相关的其他倡导领域,请访问 我们的无饥饿学校页面.

对免费和减价餐资格有更多疑问? 

通过电子邮件联系 ODE 的儿童学校营养计划:ODE 学校营养或电话:503-947-5894。 或联系我们(俄勒冈州无饥饿合作伙伴): [电子邮件保护]

Schools across Oregon provide critical nutrition to hundreds of thousands of students each year.

School meal eligibility has changed

During the COVID-19 pandemic, thousands of students in Oregon and across the country received universal free meals at school. A variety of federal waivers meant every student could receive free breakfast and lunch during the pandemic.

These pandemic waivers have ended, however, a new Oregon law expanding school meals has come online. The changes in federal and state law will play out differently at different schools and for different families.

Over 300,000 Oregon kids are eligible for free or reduced-price meals through the School Breakfast Program and the National School Lunch Program, but less than half of eligible students participate.

Help spread the word encouraging families to apply for free school meals.

  1. Share this one-pager, “Why Parents Should Fill Out the School Meals Family Income Form“, available in Vietnamese, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean, Arabic, Japanese, English and Russian.
  2. Check out this video on school meals for the 2022-23 school year and how to apply.
  3. Attend our free webinar, “Big Changes in Oregon School Meal Eligibility” on Wednesday, September 21, 1:00-2:00 pm to learn more. Register here.

Can My Children Get Free School Meals?

Your children can get free school meals in different ways. Some ways are automatic and will be described below, but they don’t apply to all families.

The most important thing you can do is fill out a form about family income that your children’s school should send home at the beginning of the school year called the “Oregon Confidential Household Application for Free and Reduced Price Meals.” Be sure to fill out that form and be sure your child returns it to the school. (You can also fill out a new form if your family income goes down.) If your child did not bring home this form and they are not already receiving free meals, ask your school for a copy of the form. You can also submit the form directly online in English or Spanish.

More Children Can Get Free Meals

In 2019, the Oregon Legislature passed a law dramatically increasing the number of children who qualify for free  school meals at public schools in Oregon, giving families the extra support they need for their student’s success. This law was delayed because of COVID but went into effect for the 2022-23 school year.

Which means, your children may now be able to get free school meals, even if they didn’t before the pandemic. Who is eligible for free meals depends on family income. Below shows the limits for the 2022-23 school year.

More Info about Applying

School Year 2022-2023 Income Eligibility Guidelines

If your household income is at or below the limits on the chart below, your children can receive free school meals if they attend a public school, a public charter and an Education Service District program. (Lower income levels apply to private schools.)

Immigration status is not considered when applying for free school meals. Free school meals is NOT a factor in a public charge test.


Receive other federal benefits

Children can receive free school meals if their households receive benefits, regardless of the amount, from:

  • The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP),
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), or
  • Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations (FDPIR)

Other Eligibility Circumstances

Children may also receive free meals if:

  • They participate in Head Start or
  • Are in Foster Care

Finally, children can also be eligible if they:  

  • Are homeless or have runaway, or 
  • Are a migrant.

Your child’s school district will have a staff member who will help determine whether your child falls into any of these categories.

How to Apply

Families must submit a new application to receive Free and Reduced Price school meals every year, unless the school has already told you that your child is eligible for the new school year. Typically, it is the Head of Household that completes and signs the application. A household is a group of related or nonrelated individuals who are living as one economic unit. (This does not include boarding houses or institutions.)

We encourage you to apply. You can apply any time of the year, not just at the start of school. If your household income goes down during the year or if you are temporarily unemployed, your children may become eligible for free school meals, even if you received a denial earlier that school year.

STEP 1

You can submit an application in one of two ways:

Through your local School District: you should receive information on the Free and Reduced Price meal application at the beginning of the school year. If you have not received this information, contact your local school office to ask about the school meals application or visit their website. Paper applications are available from your school district in Chinese, Russian, Somali, Vietnamese, Spanish, and English.

OR

Through the Oregon Department of Education’s online application (available in English and Spanish)

Apply now

STEP 2

Your eligibility is determined. You should receive one or two Eligibility Notification Letters from your school or school district stating whether your student has been approved or denied for the Free and Reduced Price school meal benefit. You could receive:

  • A letter saying that children in your household are eligible for free federal meals.
  • You may receive a letter saying that you are not eligible for free federal meals. If you received such a letter, you’re also not eligible for the Oregon EIG program (but no second letter will be sent out)
  • If your children go to public schools, you could in fact receive TWO letters. You could receive one letter saying that your children are not eligible for free meals under the federal school meals program BUT you also get a second letter saying that your children will receive free meals under Oregon’s Expanded Income Eligibility (EIG) program.  

STEP 3

Your student can start accessing free school breakfast, lunch and afterschool snacks.

Families who don’t qualify to receive the Free and Reduced Price school meal benefit based on their income are still welcome and encouraged to buy school meals, and can pay for them by contacting their school.

Did you know, most schools offer several programs to ensure eligible children can access nutritional meals in school. Meal programs include:

The Oregon Department of Education administers these programs through the Child Nutrition Programs department, working with the nutrition staff of each individual school. Participation allows schools to receive reimbursement for each breakfast, lunch, supper or snack served. In return, schools serve nutritious meals that meet USDA standards.

In Oregon, all children who would qualify for reduced-price meals now receive them for free, thanks to additional state funding. To learn about additional advocacy areas related to school meals, visit our Hunger Free Schools page.

Have more questions about Free and Reduced Price meal eligibility? 

Contact ODE's Child School Nutrition Programs by Email: ODE School Nutrition or Phone: 503-947-5894. Or contact us (Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon) at: [email protected]