打击将影响俄勒冈州每个社区的 SNAP 削减:公众意见延长至 1 月 XNUMX 日

作者:Etta O'Donnell-King

注意:关于此规则的公众意见最初于 23 月 1 日关闭,但现在重新开放至 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。这是由于美国农业部未能就拟议的规则变更对学校膳食的负面影响的影响发布分析. 现在发表你的评论。

在这里阅读我们更新的评论。

特朗普政府的一项新提案将 从全美 3.1 万人手中夺走食物,包括许多家庭、老年人和残疾人。 这种变化将 估计有 50,000 个俄勒冈州家庭从 SNAP 获得粮食援助 (补充营养援助计划,也称为“食品券”),同时也让孩子们更难获得学校膳食,并增加了繁文缛节和效率低下的程序。 俄勒冈州的每个社区都会受到伤害。 

该提案将限制各州简化人们申请援助方式的能力,称为“绝对资格”。 该提案还将降低某人有资格获得 SNAP 的收入水平,并阻止拥有非常有限资产(如二手车)的人获得资格。 这也会伤害俄勒冈州的经济, 每月减少 3 万美元的联邦福利,这将影响俄勒冈州的农民、生产者和杂货店。 

“该计划将使政府花费的与健康相关的费用远远超过其节省的费用。 这是从实践的角度来看的; 还有,同情心呢? 饥饿的儿童和终其一生都做出贡献的老年人呢,他们现在依靠食品券来维持一点点的健康。 到处都是糟糕的想法。” – Samm McCrary,俄勒冈州 SNAP 客户顾问委员会成员

当三分之一面临饥饿的孩子的家庭收入过高而无法根据现行规则获得资格时,这种削减显然是在错误的方向上进行。 在全国范围内,大约 500,000 名学生可能无法获得免费校餐。 这是因为目前参加 SNAP 的家庭无需第二次申请即可直接获得认证,整个学校可能会失去向所有孩子免费提供膳食的能力。 提议的 SNAP 更改也可能增加新的成本 《学生成功法》中的无饥饿学校规定 国家,这可能会限制其长期可行性。 详细了解对学校膳食的影响。

请注意:这是一个提议的规则,目前没有任何变化。 人们仍应照常申请和使用 SNAP 福利。

DC 需要听取您的意见! 

提高你的声音,保护俄勒冈州数以万计家庭的粮食援助,让特朗普政府知道这是一个糟糕的提议,会增加我们州的饥饿感。 他们必须听我们的——提交公众意见是让您的声音被听到的最佳方式。 根据联邦法律,必须阅读并考虑所有原始评论,因此请个性化您的评论,以最大限度地发挥您的影响。

发表评论很容易。 这很像给你的国会议员写一封电子邮件。 唯一的区别是您的评论将成为公共记录的一部分。 鼓励个人、组织和社区领袖发表评论。 60 天评论窗口现已开放至 23 月 XNUMX 日。

提交您的评论:

资源:

Fight SNAP cuts that will affect every Oregon community

by Etta O’Donnell-King

A new proposal from the Trump administration would take food away from 3.1 million people across the U.S., including many families, seniors, and people with disabilities. This change would cut an estimated 50,000 Oregon households off food assistance from SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, also known as “food stamps”), while also making it harder for kids to get school meals and add red tape and inefficiency to a program that is working well. Every community in Oregon would be hurt by this. 

This proposal would restrict states’ ability to streamline how people apply for assistance, called “categorical eligibility”. The proposal would also lower the income level at which someone is eligible for SNAP and block people with very modest assets, like a used car, from qualifying. This will also hurt Oregon’s economy, bringing in $3 million less each month in federal benefits, which would impact Oregon farmers, producers, and grocery stores. 

“This plan would cost the government far more in health-related expenses than it would save. That’s from a practical view; also, what about compassion? What about hungry children, and seniors who have contributed throughout their lives, who are now depending upon food stamps to maintain a modicum of good health. Poor idea all around.” – Samm McCrary, Oregon SNAP Client Advisory Board Member

When a third of kids facing hunger are in families earning too much to qualify under the current rules, this cut is obviously going in the wrong direction. Nationwide about 500,000 students could lose access to eligibility for free school meals. That’s because currently families who participate in SNAP are directly certified without needing a second application, and whole schools could lose the ability to serve meals to all kids for free. The proposed SNAP changes could also increase the cost of the new Hunger-Free School provisions in the Student Success Act to the state, which could limit their long term feasibility. Learn more about the impact on school meals.

Please note: This is a proposed rule and nothing has changed as of now. People should still apply for and utilize SNAP benefits as they have been.

DC needs to hear from you! 

Raise your voice to protect food assistance for tens of thousands of families across Oregon and let the Trump administration know this is a bad proposal that would increase hunger in our state. They have to listen to us–submitting a public comment is the best way to make your voice heard. By federal law, all original comments must be read and taken into consideration, so please personalize your comment to maximize your impact.

Making a comment is easy. It’s a lot like writing an email to your member of Congress. The only difference is your comment will become part of the public record. Individuals, organizations, and community leaders are encouraged to make comments. The 60-day comment window is now open through September 23.

Submit your comment:

Resources: