現在是製定客戶權利法案的時候了!

請捐款支持

我們怎麼來到這裡

Hunger-Free Oregon 和我們的客戶諮詢委員會,由經歷過飢餓和貧困的社區領袖組成,他們希望制定立法,根據實際經驗和需求,為 ODHS 員工如何與客戶互動制定一套期望。接受服務的人。

客戶諮詢委員會成員在向俄勒岡州人類服務部 (ODHS) 尋求服務時普遍遇到障礙和待遇不佳,其中許多是因為他們的種族、民族、性別和殘疾。 董事會成員與他們的社區有著密切的聯繫,並見證了許多需要關鍵資源的人遇到了阻礙他們輕鬆獲得所需支持的創傷和障礙。 在大流行期間,這些經歷只會變得更糟,因為對關鍵服務的親自訪問受限以及對 ODHS 系統的更改(包括新的在線門戶和呼叫中心)的訪問權限非常有限。

客戶諮詢委員會在 2021 年夏季對 SNAP 參與者進行了調查,以記錄他們在 ODHS 獲得服務的經歷,並聽取他們對權利法案的反饋。 調查結果證實,需要通過客戶權利法案來解決客戶服務和不公平的訪問問題。

在無飢餓的俄勒岡州,我們長期以來也記錄了基於種族、民族和語言的不同訪問 ODHS 服務的情況。 從 2000 年代初到 2019 年,我們每年都會對 ODHS 的客戶服務體驗進行“秘密購物者”報告。 我們在這項工作上與 ODHS 密切合作,重點介紹了解決障礙的發現和建議。 我們停止了這項工作,因為多年來,我們一直發現同樣的障礙對有色人種和非英語使用者的影響不成比例,而 ODHS 沒有採取行動積極解決和改變結果。 我們將員工的時間和精力轉移到與 SNAP 接受者以及那些可能有資格要求 ODHS 負責做出必要改變的人一起建立權力,以確保公平的客戶體驗、訪問和結果。 客戶權利法案是這種有意努力的結果。

該活動設想所有尋求食品福利的俄勒岡人在尋求俄勒岡州公共服務部的幫助時都會受到歡迎、支持和透明度的提供。 俄勒岡州人類服務部通過了解創傷、創造支持和歡迎環境、提供明確的信息(以要求的語言)和福利決定的透明度來集中客戶的權利。 

該活動的目標是通過執行 SNAP 客戶權利法案的立法,確保俄勒岡州人力服務部的工作人員、管理和流程以客戶為中心,優先考慮客戶需求,並在向 ODHS 尋求資源和支持時維護權利。

我們看到 ODHS 實施的此類政策具有深遠的影響,該政策將為良好的客戶服務和客戶訪問建立衡量標準,從而增加項目的採用率,減少申請過程中的創傷,並為有色人種、非性別人士提供公平的體驗-確認,以及尋求 ODHS 服務的殘障人士。

閱讀客戶權利法案

我們的目標是完成什麼

我們的目標是在 2023 年俄勒岡州立法會議期間引入這項立法。 我們將與會員討論制定客戶權利法案的重要性,並將尋找贊助商。 我們將繼續與在飢餓和貧困方面擁有專業知識的社區和人們合作,以確保受該立法影響最大的人能夠引領潮流。

關於 SNAP CAB

SNAP 客戶諮詢委員會為過去、現在和未來的 SNAP 參與者提供了一個勇敢的空間,以改進 SNAP 接受者的計劃。 董事會的存在是為了做出改變,讓決策者承擔責任,並確保所有人都能公平地使用 SNAP。 他們通過與倡導者、社區組織和立法者合作來做到這一點。

該委員會由經歷過飢餓和貧困的社區領袖組成。 這些領導人過去或現在都參加過 SNAP。 目前,所有董事會成員都認定為女性; 70% 確定為 BIPOC; 60% 是單親父母; 30% 在上大學。 董事會成員通過在會議、培訓和開展與董事會相關的工作上花費的時間獲得每小時 15 美元的津貼。 所有會議均提供交通援助、兒童保育和食物。 自這場危機開始以來,俄勒岡無飢餓組織還為支持我們的會員提供了租金、食物和技術需求的緊急支持,就像我們為員工提供的一樣。

想參與這個活動嗎?

參與其中!

有興趣了解更多關於 SNAP 客戶顧問委員會的信息嗎?

了解更多

Now is the time for a Client Bill of Rights!

Donate now

How we got here

Hunger-Free Oregon and our Client Advisory Board, comprised of community leaders who have lived experience of hunger and poverty, are hoping to create legislation to create a set of expectations for how ODHS employees interact with clients, based on the actual experiences and needs of those receiving services.

Client Advisory Board members have universally experienced barriers and poor treatment when seeking services with Oregon Department of Human Services (ODHS), many because of their race, ethnicity, gender, and disability. Board members are deeply connected to their community and witness many who need critical resources encountering trauma and barriers that prevent them from easily accessing supports they need. These experiences have only been made worse during the pandemic as limited in-person access to critical services and changes to ODHS systems, including a new online portal and call center, have starkly limited access.

The Client Advisory Board surveyed SNAP participants during Summer 2021 to document their experiences with accessing services at ODHS as well as hear their feedback on the bill of rights. Survey results confirmed a need to address customer service and inequitable access through a client bill of rights.

At Hunger-Free Oregon, we have also long documented disparate access to ODHS services based on race, ethnicity and language. From the early 2000s through 2019, we ran annual “secret shopper” reports of customer service experiences at ODHS. We partnered closely with ODHS on this work, highlighting findings and recommendations to address barriers. We stopped this work because for multiple years, we consistently found the same barriers that disproportionately affected communities of color and non-English speakers and ODHS did not take action to actively address and change the outcomes. We shifted our staff time and effort to building power with SNAP recipients and those potentially eligible to hold ODHS accountable to making needed changes to ensure equitable client experiences, access, and outcomes. The Client Bill of Rights is an outcome of this intentional effort.

The campaign envisions all Oregonians seeking food benefits are welcomed, supported, and provided with transparency while seeking assistance from Oregon Department of Human Services. Oregon Department of Human Services centers clients’ rights by being trauma-informed, creating a supportive and welcoming environment, providing clear information (in requested languages) and transparency on benefit decisions. 

The campaign’s goal is to pass legislation that enforces a SNAP Client Bill of Rights ensuring Oregon Department of Human Services staff, administration, and processes are client centered, client needs are prioritized and rights are maintained when seeking resources and support from ODHS.

We see the far reaching outcomes of a policy like this in place at ODHS that will establish metrics for good customer service and client access leading to increased uptake of programs, lower trauma during the application process, and equitable experiences for people of color, gender non-confirming, and those with disabilities seeking ODHS services.

Read the Client Bill of Rights

What we aim to accomplish

Our goal is to introduce this legislation during the 2023 Oregon legislative session. We will be speaking with Members about the importance of creating a Client Bill of Rights and will seek out sponsors. We will continue to work with community and people that have lived expertise in hunger and poverty to ensure that those who would be most impacted by this legislation are leading the way.

About the SNAP CAB

The SNAP Client Advisory Board provides a brave space for past, present, and future SNAP participants to improve the program for SNAP recipients. The board exists to make changes, hold decision-makers accountable, and ensure there is equitable access to SNAP for all. They do this by working together with advocates, community organizations, and lawmakers.

This board is comprised of community leaders who have lived experience of hunger and poverty. These leaders have been on SNAP in the past or present.  Currently, all board members identify as female; 70% identify as BIPOC; 60% are single parents; and 30% are in college. Board members are compensated through $15/hour stipends for time spent at meetings, trainings, and conducting work related to the board. Transportation assistance, childcare, and food are provided at all meetings. Since the start of this crisis, Hunger-Free Oregon also provided emergency support for rent, food, and technology needs to support our members, just as we have to our staff.

Want to get engaged with this campaign?

Get involved!

Interested in learning more about the SNAP Client Advisory Board?

Learn more