发生了哪些变化?

两年前,学校伙食发生了巨大变化,但随着紧急援助的回滚和 2022-23 学年的开始,俄勒冈人发现自己再次面临巨大变化。 

大流行时期的联邦豁免计划于 30 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日结束,该计划在 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日结束时为每个学生提供免费校餐,无论收入如何。这让许多父母和监护人想知道接下来会发生什么以及他们有资格获得什么。 无论您是刚接触校餐、刚到俄勒冈州,还是只是需要复习一下,请继续阅读以了解有关免费校餐的更多信息以及谁有资格获得免费校餐。 

由于联邦豁免计划是普遍的,所有儿童都自动纳入,无需任何人申请。 不幸的是,这些豁免的资金于 30 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日到期,结束了全国范围内的普遍免费校餐。

但这并不自动意味着您的孩子不能再获得免费的校餐。 低收入地区的一些学区将继续为所有学生提供普遍的免费膳食。 在其他地区,家长需要填写一份申请,以便州政府确定他们是否有资格获得免费或减价校餐。

我怎么知道我的孩子是否符合条件?

如果您需要申请免费或减价膳食,您孩子的学校应该已经向您发送了一份名为“俄勒冈州免费和减价膳食保密家庭申请”的表格。 如果您没有在欢迎包中收到此表格,您可以向学校索取新的申请表或在线申请 此处 (英语或西班牙语)。

即使您不知道自己是否符合资格,您仍应填写申请表并确保您的孩子将其返回学校。 既然联邦豁免已经到期,《无饥饿学校》的规定 2019 年学生成功法案 已经生效。 该法律将免费校餐的资格扩大到联邦级别以上,与大流行之前相比,俄勒冈州更多的儿童可以获得免费或减价的学校午餐。 

虽然联邦计划适用于家庭收入高于联邦贫困线 185% 的儿童,但俄勒冈州现在为家庭收入高于贫困线 300% 的儿童提供免费校餐。 这意味着 年收入 83,250 美元的四口之家的孩子将有资格在俄勒冈州获得免费校餐,即使他们不会在邻国。

同样重要的是要记住,您可以在整个学年的任何时间申请。 如果您的家庭收入在这一年中下降或您暂时失业,即使您之前没有资格,您的孩子也可能有资格获得免费校餐。

我在哪里可以了解有关免费校餐资格的更多信息?

无饥饿的俄勒冈州举办了一场免费的网络研讨会 21 月 1 日,星期三,下午 00:2-00:XNUMX 关于 免费校餐资格的变化 以及您可以做些什么来确保符合条件的家庭获得免费的校餐。  

2022 年 XNUMX 月关于学校膳食的无饥饿俄勒冈网络研讨会

更多社区资源

查看我们的信息单页,“为什么家长应该填写学校膳食家庭收入表“,可用于: 越南语西班牙语简体中文繁体中文韩语阿拉伯语日本语英语 和 俄语.

您可以了解有关免费校餐资格以及如何申请的更多信息 此处

What changes have taken place?

There was a big change for school meals two years ago, but as emergency aid is rolled back and the 2022-23 school year begins, Oregonians find ourselves facing big change once again. 

The pandemic-era federal waiver program that gave every school child free school meals regardless of income ended on June 30 of 2022. This left a lot of parents and guardians wondering what comes next and what they qualify for. Whether you’re new to school meals, new to the state of Oregon, or simply need a refresher, read on to learn more about free school meals and who qualifies for them. 

Because the federal waiver program was universal, all children were included automatically and no one had to apply. Unfortunately, the funding for these waivers expired on June 30 of 2022, putting an end to universal free school meals throughout the country.

But this doesn’t automatically mean your child can no longer receive free school meals. Some school districts in low-income areas will continue to provide universal free meals to all students. In other districts, parents will need to fill out an application so the state can determine their eligibility for free or reduced-price school meals.

How do I know if my child qualifies?

If you need to apply for free or reduced-price meals, your child’s school should have already sent you a form called the “Oregon Confidential Household Application for Free and Reduced Price Meals.” If you did not receive this form in your welcome packet, you can ask for a new application from the school or apply online here (in English or Spanish).

Even if you don’t know whether or not you qualify, you should still fill out an application and make sure your child returns it to the school. Now that federal waivers have expired, the Hunger Free Schools provisions of the 2019 Student Success Act have gone into effect. This law expands eligibility for free school meals above the federal level, allowing a greater number of children in Oregon to access free or reduced price school lunches than had access before the pandemic. 

While the federal program applies to children with family incomes 185% above the federal poverty line, Oregon now provides free school meals to children with family incomes 300% above the poverty line. This means that a child from a family of four with an annual income of $83,250 would qualify for free school meals in Oregon, even if they would not in a neighboring state.

It’s also important to remember that you can apply at any time throughout the school year. If your household income goes down during the year or if you are temporarily unemployed, your children may become eligible for free school meals, even if you didn’t qualify before.

Where can I learn more about free school meals eligibility?

You can learn more about Free School Meals eligibility and how to apply here

Hunger-Free Oregon is also hosting a free webinar on Wednesday, September, 21, at 1:00-2:00 pm. We’ll talk about what is changing in free school meal eligibility and what you can do to ensure eligible families receive free school meals. A staff member from the Oregon Department of Education will be available to respond to community questions about free school meal eligibility.

Come to this webinar if:

  • You have questions about who should apply for free school meals and how to apply
  • You have a role in your local community or school encouraging families and students to access meals at school
  • You are seeking informational materials and tools to share with communities about free school meals 

Registration is limited – RSVP today

More Community Resources

Check out our informational one-pager, “Why Parents Should Fill Out the School Meals Family Income Form“, available in: VietnameseSpanishSimplified ChineseTraditional ChineseKoreanArabicJapaneseEnglish and Russian.