上週,俄勒岡州立法結束了 2024 年的短期會議。隨著為期五週的遊說日、立法者會議、信件、一對一等活動的旋風般的塵埃落定,俄勒岡州無飢餓合作夥伴團隊正在反思本次會議的得失以及後續影響俄勒岡人將會看到並感受到。我們正在慶祝孩子們在學校和夏季獲得膳食方面取得的一些重大勝利,並解決糧食不安全的一些根本原因。但我們也對立法者未能優先考慮的其他關鍵問題感到失望。

俄勒岡州孩子們的巨大勝利

我們很高興贏得三項重大變革,這些變革將支持俄勒岡州兒童做好學習和成長的準備,並減少兒童飢餓。

夏季 EBT 將縮小夏季飢餓差距,為低收入兒童在夏季學校停課且無法獲得學校膳食時提供糧食福利。該計劃還將為俄勒岡州經濟帶來 83 萬美元的聯邦福利。 

其次,由於我們成功推動了州規則變革,俄勒岡州預計將帶來 一般學校膳食 明年將有數百所新學校!

我們也慶祝了 30 萬美元的投資 暑期學習計劃。事實證明,暑期學習可以提高教育和行為成果,並且是孩子們在學校放假期間獲取膳食的關鍵方式。

這些新立法將使我們更接近俄勒岡州,讓所有兒童都有平等的機會在學校取得成功並獲得健康的人生開端。 

在其他食品獲取新聞中

我們很自豪地看到立法支持建立 熱食 SNAP 計劃(SB 1585),亦為 兒童和成人護理食品計劃!

解決糧食不安全根源的多項勝利 

我們知道,糧食不安全並不存在於真空中,為了真正消除俄勒岡州的飢餓,我們必須在住房、日托、公平工資和全面公平等問題上為俄勒岡州家庭提供支持。今天,我們對資金的通過表示歡迎 與就業相關的日托緊急住房穩定和生產一攬子計劃.

未完成的事

雖然我們有很多值得慶祝的事情,但我們也對立法者未能優先考慮我們社區的需求的領域感到失望。 

學生緊急基本需求包 將會支持那些努力滿足學習基本需求的高等教育學生。不幸的是,相當多的高等教育學生正在努力解決住房和糧食不安全問題,而駐紮在校園的福利導航員沒有足夠的資源來提供幫助。

看到祂的逝去,我們也感到心痛 HB 4002,它將個人吸毒重新定為犯罪,而不是採取公共衛生方法來解決成癮問題。研究表明,將低度持有毒品定為刑事犯罪會加劇幾代人的貧困和飢餓。俄勒岡州立法者錯誤地將毒品合法化歸咎於毒品合法化,而俄勒岡州需要的是​​方便且負擔得起的住房、成癮服務和醫療保健。  

數十年來,倡議者們一直致力於解決這些問題,我們知道,爭取正義是一場馬拉松,而不是短跑。這些挫折不會阻止我們,我們將繼續建立社區力量,並將我們的心集中在公正、公平和無飢餓的俄勒岡州的願景上。 

展望未來

在下一章中,我們將重點放在一些重大長期目標的聯盟建立和策略規劃。 

學校的所有膳食: 俄勒岡州在消除孩子們在學校獲取食物的障礙方面取得了令人印象深刻的進步,現在是時候把食物帶回家了。九個州已經通過立法,俄勒岡州可能是下一個!我們正在建立一個強大的組織聯盟,並正在為 2025 年立法會議準備里程碑式的立法。 

簽署支持全民校餐的承諾。

所有俄勒岡人的食物: 我們期待帶來 所有俄勒岡人的食物 根據俄勒岡州 2025 年立法,為目前僅因移民身份而被排除在重要糧食援助計劃之外的 62,000 名俄勒岡人提供支持。俄勒岡州無飢餓合作夥伴正在從我們作為該運動聯合召集人的角色轉變,並將作為指導委員會成員繼續深入參與前進。我們目前正在推動就州長來年的預算制定這項重要的立法。 

請花一點時間告訴科特克州長,每個俄勒岡人都應該獲得他們茁壯成長所需的食物,無論他們出生在哪裡。

消除飢餓路線圖:
我們與俄勒岡州飢餓特別工作小組合作,受到啟發,在本季開始實施消除飢餓路線圖。這將是一個全面的、以研究為基礎的政策平台,透過系統方法為俄勒岡州消除飢餓創造一條可行的路徑。

您的支持使這一切成為可能。你們的電話、電子郵件、捐款、意見和各種鼓勵讓我們到達了終點線。因為我們的倡議:

  • 294,000 名低收入俄勒岡州學生將在夏初獲得 120 美元的食品福利
  • 就業相關日托候補名單上的 1,900 個家庭將獲得托兒服務
  • 俄勒岡州還有數百所學校有資金明年為所有學生提供全民學校餐。

感謝您參與俄勒岡州消除飢餓運動!

Last week, Oregon legislation wrapped up the 2024 short session. As the dust settles on the whirlwind five weeks of lobby days, legislator meetings, letters, one-on-ones and more, the Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon team is reflecting on the wins and misses from this session and the after-effects that Oregonians will see and feel. We’re celebrating some major victories for kids’ access to meals during school and summer, and addressing some root causes of food insecurity. But we’re also holding disappointment for other critical issues that legislators failed to prioritize.

Huge wins for Oregon kids

We are thrilled to win three big changes that will support Oregon kids’ readiness to learn and grow and reduce child hunger.

Summer EBT will narrow the summer hunger gap, providing food benefits to low-income children while school is out for the summer and they don’t have access to school meals. This program will also bring in $83 million of federal benefits into Oregon’s economy. 

Second, thanks to our successful push for a state rule change, Oregon is expected to bring universal school meals to hundreds of new schools next year!

We are also celebrating an investment of $30 million for summer learning programs. Summer learning is proven to increase educational and behavioral outcomes, and is a key way for kids to access meals while school is out.

These new pieces of legislation will get us closer to an Oregon where all children have an equal opportunity to succeed in school and get a healthy start on life. 

In other food access news

We are proud to see legislation that supports the establishment of a SNAP for Hot Food program (SB 1585), and also provides emergency stabilization to the Child and Adult Care Food Program!

Multiple wins addressing root causes of food insecurity 

We know that food insecurity does not exist in a vacuum, and to truly end hunger in Oregon we must support Oregon families on issues like housing, daycare, fair wages, and equity across the board. Today, we’re applauding the passing of funding for Employment-Related Daycare and the Emergency Housing Stability and Production Package.

Unfinished business

While we have much to celebrate, we are also holding disappointment in areas where legislators failed to prioritize the needs of our community. 

The Student Emergency Basic Needs Package would have supported higher education students struggling with the basic needs essential for learning. Unfortunately, a considerable number of higher education students are grappling with housing and food insecurity, and the benefits navigators stationed on campuses are not empowered with adequate resources to help.

We are also disheartened to see the passing of HB 4002, which recriminalizes the personal use of drugs instead of taking a public health approach to addiction. Research has shown that the criminalization of low-level drug possession increases poverty and hunger for generations. Oregon lawmakers falsely blamed drug decriminalization when what Oregon needs is accessible and affordable housing, addiction services, and healthcare.  

Advocates have been working for these issues for decades, and we know that fighting for justice is a marathon, not a sprint. These setbacks will not deter us, and we will continue to build community power and keep our hearts focused on the vision of a just, equitable and hunger-free Oregon. 

Looking ahead

In our next chapter, we will be focusing on coalition building and strategy planning for some big, long-term goals. 

School Meals for All: Oregon has made impressive strides in removing barriers for kids to access food at school, and it is time to bring it home. Nine states have already passed legislation and Oregon can be next! We are building a strong coalition of organizations and are preparing milestone legislation for the 2025 legislative session. 

Sign the pledge to support School Meals for All.

Food for All Oregonians: We are looking forward to bringing Food for All Oregonians to the Oregon legislation in 2025, to support the 62,000 Oregonians currently excluded from vital food assistance programs simply because of immigration status. Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon is shifting from our role as co-conveners of the campaign, and will remain deeply involved as Steering Committee members moving forward. We are currently pushing to get this critical legislation on the Governor’s budget for the upcoming year. 

Please take a moment to tell Governor Kotek that every Oregonian deserves access to the food they need to thrive, regardless of where they were born.

Roadmap to End Hunger:
In collaboration with the Oregon Hunger Task Force, we are inspired to embark on the Roadmap to End Hunger this season. This will be a holistic, research-informed policy platform that creates an actionable path to end hunger in Oregon with a systems approach.

Your support made this all possible. Your calls, emails, donations, input and encouragement of all sorts got us to the finish line. Because of our advocacy:

  • 294,000 low-income Oregon schoolkids will receive $120 in food benefits at the start of the summer
  • 1,900 families on the Employment-Related Day Care waitlist will have access to childcare
  • Hundreds of additional Oregon schools have funds to provide universal school meals to all students next year.

Thank you for being a part of the movement to end hunger in Oregon!