في الأسبوع الماضي، اختتم تشريع ولاية أوريغون الجلسة القصيرة لعام 2024. مع انقشاع الغبار بعد خمسة أسابيع من أيام الضغط، واجتماعات المشرعين، والرسائل، واللقاءات الفردية والمزيد، يفكر فريق شركاء من أجل القضاء على الجوع في ولاية أوريغون في المكاسب والإخفاقات من هذه الجلسة والآثار اللاحقة التي سيراها سكان ولاية أوريغون ويشعرون بها. نحن نحتفل ببعض الانتصارات الكبرى فيما يتعلق بحصول الأطفال على وجبات الطعام خلال المدرسة والصيف، ومعالجة بعض الأسباب الجذرية لانعدام الأمن الغذائي. ولكننا نشعر أيضًا بخيبة الأمل تجاه القضايا الحاسمة الأخرى التي فشل المشرعون في منحها الأولوية.

انتصارات ضخمة لأطفال ولاية أوريغون

يسعدنا الفوز بثلاثة تغييرات كبيرة من شأنها أن تدعم استعداد أطفال ولاية أوريغون للتعلم والنمو والحد من جوع الأطفال.

الصيف EBT سيعمل على تضييق فجوة الجوع في الصيف، من خلال توفير فوائد غذائية للأطفال ذوي الدخل المنخفض أثناء انقطاع المدارس في الصيف وعدم تمكنهم من الحصول على الوجبات المدرسية. سيجلب هذا البرنامج أيضًا 83 مليون دولار من المزايا الفيدرالية إلى اقتصاد ولاية أوريغون. 

ثانيًا، بفضل سعينا الناجح لتغيير قواعد الولاية، من المتوقع أن تحقق ولاية أوريغون ذلك الوجبات المدرسية الشاملة إلى مئات المدارس الجديدة في العام المقبل!

نحن نحتفل أيضًا باستثمار 30 مليون دولار أمريكي برامج التعلم الصيفية. ثبت أن التعلم الصيفي يزيد من النتائج التعليمية والسلوكية، وهو وسيلة رئيسية للأطفال للحصول على وجبات الطعام أثناء تواجدهم في المدرسة.

ستقربنا هذه التشريعات الجديدة من ولاية أوريغون حيث يتمتع جميع الأطفال بفرصة متساوية للنجاح في المدرسة والحصول على بداية صحية في الحياة. 

وفي أخبار الوصول إلى الغذاء الأخرى

نحن فخورون برؤية التشريعات التي تدعم إنشاء سناب للأغذية الساخنة برنامج (SB 1585)، ويوفر أيضًا الاستقرار في حالات الطوارئ لـ برنامج أغذية رعاية الأطفال والكبار!

انتصارات متعددة تعالج الأسباب الجذرية لانعدام الأمن الغذائي 

نحن نعلم أن انعدام الأمن الغذائي لا يوجد في فراغ، ومن أجل القضاء على الجوع حقًا في ولاية أوريغون، يجب علينا دعم أسر أوريغون في قضايا مثل الإسكان والرعاية النهارية والأجور العادلة والمساواة في جميع المجالات. اليوم، نحن نشيد بمرور التمويل لـ الرعاية النهارية ذات الصلة بالتوظيف و حزمة استقرار وإنتاج الإسكان في حالات الطوارئ.

الأعمال غير المنجزة

في حين أن لدينا الكثير لنحتفل به، فإننا نشعر أيضًا بخيبة الأمل في المناطق التي فشل فيها المشرعون في إعطاء الأولوية لاحتياجات مجتمعنا. 

حزمة الاحتياجات الأساسية الطارئة للطلاب كان من الممكن أن يدعم طلاب التعليم العالي الذين يعانون من الاحتياجات الأساسية الضرورية للتعلم. لسوء الحظ، يعاني عدد كبير من طلاب التعليم العالي من انعدام الأمن الغذائي والسكن، ولا يتم تمكين ملاحي الفوائد المتمركزين في الحرم الجامعي بالموارد الكافية للمساعدة.

نحن أيضًا نشعر بالإحباط عندما نرى رحيل HB 4002، الذي يعيد تجريم الاستخدام الشخصي للمخدرات بدلاً من اتباع نهج الصحة العامة تجاه الإدمان. وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن تجريم حيازة المخدرات على مستوى منخفض يزيد من الفقر والجوع لأجيال عديدة. ألقى المشرعون في ولاية أوريغون اللوم كذباً على إلغاء تجريم المخدرات عندما يكون ما تحتاجه ولاية أوريغون هو الإسكان الميسر وبأسعار معقولة، وخدمات الإدمان، والرعاية الصحية.  

لقد ظل المناصرون يعملون من أجل هذه القضايا لعقود من الزمن، ونحن نعلم أن النضال من أجل العدالة هو بمثابة سباق الماراثون، وليس سباق السرعة. لن تردعنا هذه النكسات، وسنستمر في بناء قوة المجتمع وإبقاء قلوبنا مركزة على رؤية ولاية أوريغون العادلة والمنصفة والخالية من الجوع. 

واستشرافا للمستقبل

في الفصل التالي، سنركز على بناء التحالفات والتخطيط الاستراتيجي لبعض الأهداف الكبيرة طويلة المدى. 

الوجبات المدرسية للجميع: خطت ولاية أوريغون خطوات مثيرة للإعجاب في إزالة الحواجز التي تحول دون حصول الأطفال على الطعام في المدرسة، وحان الوقت لإعادته إلى المنزل. لقد أصدرت تسع ولايات بالفعل تشريعات ويمكن لولاية أوريغون أن تكون التالية! نحن نعمل على بناء تحالف قوي من المنظمات ونقوم بإعداد تشريعات هامة للدورة التشريعية لعام 2025. 

قم بالتوقيع على التعهد بدعم الوجبات المدرسية للجميع.

الغذاء لجميع سكان ولاية أوريغون: ونحن نتطلع إلى جلب الغذاء لجميع سكان ولاية أوريغون إلى تشريع ولاية أوريغون في عام 2025، لدعم 62,000 من سكان ولاية أوريغون المستبعدين حاليًا من برامج المساعدة الغذائية الحيوية لمجرد وضع الهجرة. لقد تحول شركاء من أجل ولاية أوريغون خالية من الجوع من دورنا كمشاركين في تنظيم الحملة، وسنظل مشاركين بعمق مع تقدم أعضاء اللجنة التوجيهية للأمام. نحن نعمل حاليًا على إقرار هذا التشريع المهم بشأن موازنة الحاكم للعام القادم. 

يرجى تخصيص بعض الوقت لإخبار الحاكم كوتيك أن كل مواطن في ولاية أوريغون يستحق الحصول على الطعام الذي يحتاجه للنمو، بغض النظر عن مكان ولادته.

خارطة الطريق للقضاء على الجوع:
بالتعاون مع فرقة العمل المعنية بالجوع في ولاية أوريغون، ألهمنا الشروع في خارطة الطريق للقضاء على الجوع هذا الموسم. سيكون هذا بمثابة منصة سياسية شاملة مبنية على الأبحاث والتي تخلق مسارًا قابلاً للتنفيذ للقضاء على الجوع في ولاية أوريغون من خلال نهج النظم.

دعمكم جعل كل هذا ممكنا. مكالماتكم ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني والتبرعات والمدخلات والتشجيع بجميع أنواعه أوصلتنا إلى خط النهاية. بسبب دعوتنا:

  • سيحصل 294,000 من أطفال المدارس من ذوي الدخل المنخفض في ولاية أوريغون على 120 دولارًا أمريكيًا من المساعدات الغذائية في بداية الصيف
  • ستتاح لـ 1,900 أسرة مدرجة في قائمة انتظار الرعاية النهارية ذات الصلة بالتوظيف إمكانية الوصول إلى رعاية الأطفال
  • تمتلك مئات المدارس الإضافية في ولاية أوريغون الأموال اللازمة لتوفير الوجبات المدرسية الشاملة لجميع الطلاب في العام المقبل.

شكرًا لكونك جزءًا من الحركة لإنهاء الجوع في ولاية أوريغون!

Last week, Oregon legislation wrapped up the 2024 short session. As the dust settles on the whirlwind five weeks of lobby days, legislator meetings, letters, one-on-ones and more, the Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon team is reflecting on the wins and misses from this session and the after-effects that Oregonians will see and feel. We’re celebrating some major victories for kids’ access to meals during school and summer, and addressing some root causes of food insecurity. But we’re also holding disappointment for other critical issues that legislators failed to prioritize.

Huge wins for Oregon kids

We are thrilled to win three big changes that will support Oregon kids’ readiness to learn and grow and reduce child hunger.

Summer EBT will narrow the summer hunger gap, providing food benefits to low-income children while school is out for the summer and they don’t have access to school meals. This program will also bring in $83 million of federal benefits into Oregon’s economy. 

Second, thanks to our successful push for a state rule change, Oregon is expected to bring universal school meals to hundreds of new schools next year!

We are also celebrating an investment of $30 million for summer learning programs. Summer learning is proven to increase educational and behavioral outcomes, and is a key way for kids to access meals while school is out.

These new pieces of legislation will get us closer to an Oregon where all children have an equal opportunity to succeed in school and get a healthy start on life. 

In other food access news

We are proud to see legislation that supports the establishment of a SNAP for Hot Food program (SB 1585), and also provides emergency stabilization to the Child and Adult Care Food Program!

Multiple wins addressing root causes of food insecurity 

We know that food insecurity does not exist in a vacuum, and to truly end hunger in Oregon we must support Oregon families on issues like housing, daycare, fair wages, and equity across the board. Today, we’re applauding the passing of funding for Employment-Related Daycare and the Emergency Housing Stability and Production Package.

Unfinished business

While we have much to celebrate, we are also holding disappointment in areas where legislators failed to prioritize the needs of our community. 

The Student Emergency Basic Needs Package would have supported higher education students struggling with the basic needs essential for learning. Unfortunately, a considerable number of higher education students are grappling with housing and food insecurity, and the benefits navigators stationed on campuses are not empowered with adequate resources to help.

We are also disheartened to see the passing of HB 4002, which recriminalizes the personal use of drugs instead of taking a public health approach to addiction. Research has shown that the criminalization of low-level drug possession increases poverty and hunger for generations. Oregon lawmakers falsely blamed drug decriminalization when what Oregon needs is accessible and affordable housing, addiction services, and healthcare.  

Advocates have been working for these issues for decades, and we know that fighting for justice is a marathon, not a sprint. These setbacks will not deter us, and we will continue to build community power and keep our hearts focused on the vision of a just, equitable and hunger-free Oregon. 

Looking ahead

In our next chapter, we will be focusing on coalition building and strategy planning for some big, long-term goals. 

School Meals for All: Oregon has made impressive strides in removing barriers for kids to access food at school, and it is time to bring it home. Nine states have already passed legislation and Oregon can be next! We are building a strong coalition of organizations and are preparing milestone legislation for the 2025 legislative session. 

Sign the pledge to support School Meals for All.

Food for All Oregonians: We are looking forward to bringing Food for All Oregonians to the Oregon legislation in 2025, to support the 62,000 Oregonians currently excluded from vital food assistance programs simply because of immigration status. Partners for a Hunger-Free Oregon is shifting from our role as co-conveners of the campaign, and will remain deeply involved as Steering Committee members moving forward. We are currently pushing to get this critical legislation on the Governor’s budget for the upcoming year. 

Please take a moment to tell Governor Kotek that every Oregonian deserves access to the food they need to thrive, regardless of where they were born.

Roadmap to End Hunger:
In collaboration with the Oregon Hunger Task Force, we are inspired to embark on the Roadmap to End Hunger this season. This will be a holistic, research-informed policy platform that creates an actionable path to end hunger in Oregon with a systems approach.

Your support made this all possible. Your calls, emails, donations, input and encouragement of all sorts got us to the finish line. Because of our advocacy:

  • 294,000 low-income Oregon schoolkids will receive $120 in food benefits at the start of the summer
  • 1,900 families on the Employment-Related Day Care waitlist will have access to childcare
  • Hundreds of additional Oregon schools have funds to provide universal school meals to all students next year.

Thank you for being a part of the movement to end hunger in Oregon!