أولويات سياسة الجلسة التشريعية لعام 2024

توفر هذه الجلسة للمشرعين في ولاية أوريغون فرصًا مؤثرة لمعالجة أزمة الجوع المستمرة في ولاية أوريغون. حاليًا، يعاني حوالي 1 من كل 10 من سكان ولاية أوريغون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي، وتتأثر مجتمعات معينة باستمرار بشكل كبير، مثل الأمهات العازبات، والمستأجرين، والسكان الأصليين. يجب على المشرعين في ولاية أوريغون أن يتحركوا الآن لمعالجة الجوع على المستوى النظامي. ستجد أدناه توصيات لثلاث سياسات من شأنها أن تدعم سكان ولاية أوريغون في الوصول مباشرة إلى الغذاء، بالإضافة إلى ست سياسات إضافية تعالج قضايا التقاطع التي تؤدي إلى الجوع في مجتمعاتنا.

أولويات سياستنا

قم بتمويل إدارة Summer EBT لإنهاء الجوع في الصيف لأطفال ولاية أوريغون

يعد الوصول المستمر إلى الغذاء أمرًا أساسيًا لقدرة الأطفال على التعلم والنمو، ومع ذلك فإن جوع الأطفال يرتفع باستمرار خلال أشهر الصيف. Summer EBT هو برنامج جديد ممول اتحاديًا سيوفر 40 دولارًا شهريًا لكل شهر صيفي للأطفال في سن المدرسة المؤهلين للحصول على وجبات مجانية أو مخفضة السعر في المدرسة.

سيجلب هذا البرنامج 35 مليون دولار من المساعدات الغذائية سنويًا لأطفال ولاية أوريغون، ولكن يتعين على المشرعين في الولاية التصرف بسرعة للموافقة على التمويل لتغطية نصف التكاليف الإدارية السنوية فقط. من خلال استثمار أولي متواضع، تتاح للمشرعين في ولاية أوريغون الفرصة لإطلاق التمويل الفيدرالي وتخفيف فجوة الجوع في الصيف بين أطفال أوريغون.

أخبر المشرعين بإعطاء الأولوية لتمويل Summer EBT في طلب ميزانية ODHS

ضمان الوصول إلى الوجبات المدرسية

لا يستطيع الطلاب التعلم عندما يشعرون بالجوع، أو عندما يشعرون بالقلق بشأن مصدر وجبتهم التالية. مطلوب إجراء عاجل للتأكد من أن المدارس لديها إمكانية الوصول إلى الأموال التي تم تخصيصها بالفعل لتوفير الوجبات المدرسية لأطفال ولاية أوريغون.

تمتلك الولاية ما يكفي من التمويل للسماح لمئات المدارس الأخرى بتقديم الوجبات المدرسية لجميع الطلاب. للإفراج عن هذه الأموال، والسماح للمدارس بتوفير وجبات عالمية، يجب أن تتماشى قواعد الولاية مع القواعد الفيدرالية. يجب تحقيق ذلك بسرعة، إما من خلال تغيير قاعدة وكالة ODE، أو من خلال الإجراءات التشريعية.

التعهد بدعم تحالف الوجبات المدرسية للجميع!

حزمة احتياجات الطلاب الطارئة – HB 4162

أبلغ طلاب الكليات والجامعات في ولاية أوريغون عن تزايد معدلات انعدام الأمن الغذائي، وعدم الاستقرار السكني، والتحديات في توفير الكتب المدرسية والوصول إليها، والنقل، ورعاية الأطفال، والاحتياجات الأساسية الأخرى. إن حزمة احتياجات الطوارئ للطلاب لعام 2024 عبارة عن جهد مشترك بين الحزبين الجمهوري والديمقراطي يتمحور حول الطلاب لدعم برنامج ملاحي الاحتياجات الأساسية في ولاية أوريغون وبرنامج القدرة على تحمل تكاليف الكتب المدرسية بتمويل طارئ بقيمة 6 ملايين دولار لمرة واحدة.

سيضمن HB 4162 أن ملاحي المزايا في الحرم الجامعي سيكون لديهم موارد لدعم الطلاب الذين يمرون عبر الأبواب ويمنعون القدرة على تحمل تكاليف الكتب المدرسية من أن تصبح أزمة مالية للطلاب.

تعرف على المزيد حول حزمة احتياجات الطلاب الطارئة

رجل مبتسم يرتدي نظارة شمسية ويحمل لافتة تقول

2024 Legislation Session Policy Priorities

This session provides Oregon legislators with impactful opportunities to address Oregon’s ongoing hunger crisis. Currently, around 1 in 10 Oregonians are food insecure, and certain communities are consistently drastically more impacted, such as single mothers, renters, and the indigenous population. Oregon legislators must act now to address hunger on a systemic level. Below you’ll see recommendations for three policies that will support Oregonians directly accessing food, as well as a six additional policies addressing the intersection issues that drive hunger in our communities.

Our Policy Priorities

Fund Summer EBT administration to end summer hunger for Oregon’s kids

Consistent access to food is central to children’s ability to learn and grow, yet child hunger consistently spikes during summer months. Summer EBT is a new, federally-funded program that will provide $40/month per summer month to school-age children who qualify for free or reduced-price meals at school.

This program will bring $35 million in food assistance a year to Oregon’s kids, but state legislators need to act quickly to approve funding to cover just half of the annual administrative costs. With a modest initial investment, Oregon legislators have the opportunity to unlock federal funding and alleviate the summer hunger gap for Oregon’s kids.

Tell your legislators to prioritize Summer EBT funding in the ODHS budget request

Ensure Access to School Meals

Students can’t learn when they’re hungry, or when they’re worried about where their next meal will come from. Urgent action is required to make sure that schools have access to funds that are already set aside to provide school meals for Oregon’s kids.

The state has enough funding to allow hundreds of more schools to provide school meals for all students. To release this money, and allow schools to provide universal meals, state rules must align with federal rules. This needs to be accomplished quickly, either through the ODE agency rule change, or legislative action.

Pledge to support our School Meals for All coalition!

Student Emergency Needs Package – HB 4162

College and university students in Oregon are reporting increasing rates of food insecurity, housing instability and challenges affording and accessing textbooks, transportation, childcare, and other basic needs. The 2024 Student Emergency Needs Package is a bipartisan, student-centered effort to support Oregon’s Basic Needs Navigators and Textbook Affordability Program with $6 million dollars in one-time, emergency funding.

HB 4162 will ensure that the Benefits Navigators on college campuses will have resources to support the students that walk through the doors and prevent textbook affordability from becoming a financial crisis for students.

Learn more about the Student Emergency Needs Package

Smiling man in sunglasses hold a sign that says