2024 年立法會議政策重點

本次會議為俄勒岡州立法者提供了解決俄勒岡州持續的飢餓危機的有效機會。目前,大約十分之一的俄勒岡人面臨糧食不安全,而某些社區受到的影響始終嚴重嚴重,例如單親媽媽、租屋者和原住民。俄勒岡州立法者必須立即採取行動,在系統層面解決飢餓問題。以下您將看到三項政策建議,這些政策將支持俄勒岡人直接獲取食物,以及六項額外政策,解決導致社區飢餓的交叉問題。

我們的政策重點

資助夏季 EBT 管理,以結束俄勒岡州孩子們的夏季飢餓

持續獲得食物對於兒童的學習和成長能力至關重要,但兒童的飢餓感在夏季持續飆升。夏季 EBT 是一項由聯邦資助的新計劃,每個夏季每月向有資格在學校享受免費或減價餐食的學齡兒童提供 40 美元。

該計劃每年將為俄勒岡州的孩子們帶來 35 萬美元的糧食援助,但州立法者需要迅速採取行動,批准資金來支付年度行政費用的一半。透過適度的初始投資,俄勒岡州立法者有機會釋放聯邦資金並緩解俄勒岡州孩子們的夏季飢餓缺口。

告訴您的立法者在 ODHS 預算請求中優先考慮夏季 EBT 資金

確保獲得學校膳食

當學生飢餓或擔心下一餐從哪裡來時,他們無法學習。需要採取緊急行動,確保學校能夠獲得已經預留的資金,為俄勒岡州的孩子們提供學校膳食。

該州有足夠的資金允許另外數百所學校為所有學生提供學校餐點。為了釋放這筆資金並允許學校提供全民膳食,州規定必須與聯邦規定保持一致。這需要透過 ODE 機構規則變更或立法行動來快速完成。

承諾支持我們的「全民學校供餐」聯盟!

學生緊急需求包 - HB 4162

俄勒岡州的大學生報告說,糧食不安全、住房不穩定的比例不斷上升,並且在負擔和獲得教科書、交通、兒童保育和其他基本需求方面面臨挑戰。 2024 年學生緊急需求計畫是一項以學生為中心的兩黨共同努力,旨在透過 6 萬美元的一次性緊急資金支持俄勒岡州的基本需求導航和教科書負擔能力計畫。

HB 4162 將確保大學校園的福利導航員擁有資源來支持走進大門的學生,並防止教科書負擔能力成為學生的財務危機。

了解有關學生緊急需求包的更多信息

戴墨鏡的微笑男子舉著一塊牌子,上面寫著

2024 Legislation Session Policy Priorities

This session provides Oregon legislators with impactful opportunities to address Oregon’s ongoing hunger crisis. Currently, around 1 in 10 Oregonians are food insecure, and certain communities are consistently drastically more impacted, such as single mothers, renters, and the indigenous population. Oregon legislators must act now to address hunger on a systemic level. Below you’ll see recommendations for three policies that will support Oregonians directly accessing food, as well as a six additional policies addressing the intersection issues that drive hunger in our communities.

Our Policy Priorities

Fund Summer EBT administration to end summer hunger for Oregon’s kids

Consistent access to food is central to children’s ability to learn and grow, yet child hunger consistently spikes during summer months. Summer EBT is a new, federally-funded program that will provide $40/month per summer month to school-age children who qualify for free or reduced-price meals at school.

This program will bring $35 million in food assistance a year to Oregon’s kids, but state legislators need to act quickly to approve funding to cover just half of the annual administrative costs. With a modest initial investment, Oregon legislators have the opportunity to unlock federal funding and alleviate the summer hunger gap for Oregon’s kids.

Tell your legislators to prioritize Summer EBT funding in the ODHS budget request

Ensure Access to School Meals

Students can’t learn when they’re hungry, or when they’re worried about where their next meal will come from. Urgent action is required to make sure that schools have access to funds that are already set aside to provide school meals for Oregon’s kids.

The state has enough funding to allow hundreds of more schools to provide school meals for all students. To release this money, and allow schools to provide universal meals, state rules must align with federal rules. This needs to be accomplished quickly, either through the ODE agency rule change, or legislative action.

Pledge to support our School Meals for All coalition!

Student Emergency Needs Package – HB 4162

College and university students in Oregon are reporting increasing rates of food insecurity, housing instability and challenges affording and accessing textbooks, transportation, childcare, and other basic needs. The 2024 Student Emergency Needs Package is a bipartisan, student-centered effort to support Oregon’s Basic Needs Navigators and Textbook Affordability Program with $6 million dollars in one-time, emergency funding.

HB 4162 will ensure that the Benefits Navigators on college campuses will have resources to support the students that walk through the doors and prevent textbook affordability from becoming a financial crisis for students.

Learn more about the Student Emergency Needs Package

Smiling man in sunglasses hold a sign that says